![]() |
Chipping
I am interested in how others call this.
First and ten for A from their 30. A32 takes the ball and breaks free for an apparent touchdown. As A32 crosses B's 20 with no B player closer than 10 yards, A75 decides this is a good time to block B68 and proceeds to "clean his clock" with a legal block albeit B68 given his top speed might cause him to come in second to a turtle in a race. A32 scores. Would you call A75 for a live ball personal foul? |
Personal Foul-9-4-3b Charging into an opponent that is obviously out of the play. TD called back spot foul.
http://www.nfhs.org/cgi-bin/ultimate...c;f=9;t=002788 |
Canadian Ruling
Quote:
If B68 has no chance to be in the play, there is no need to "clock him". We are enforcing this as a live-ball UR foul. 15y from where the ball was when the hit happened. If that spot is the B-20: No TD. Team A 1D/10 @ B-35. |
Live ball personal foul, it comes back & take the 6 points off. We all know the Coach goes bonkers & there are schools that won't have our crew back because we called it by the rules.:rolleyes:
|
Yep. Personal Foul (and also for stupidity). Hopefully, the coach and team will blame the player and not the officials.
|
I've heard of philosophies from other officials that say try to make this a dead ball foul so that the TD will stand. That said, if the block occurs obviously while the ball is still live I will take the points off the board and penalize 15 yds from the spot of the foul and have done so a few times over the last several seasons. I have also penalized as a dead ball when it is very close as I do tend to agree with the aforementioned philosophy.
|
Quote:
|
Mike:
In NCAA, Live-ball fouls enforced as dead-ball fouls are generally non-contact and non-player fouls. Which NCAA rule dictates that a live-ball personal foul be enforced from the succeeding spot? Rule 9-1-2-j applies to Ed's situation and the penalty is "15 yards from the basic spot or succeeding spot for deadball fouls and a first down for Team B fouls if the first down is not in conflict with other rules." |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
As I mentioned in another thread, we have been instructed in Kentucky by the KHSAA to assess this on the try.
|
Quote:
|
Yes, the penalty is to be called as a personal foul under 9-4-3 (b) or (g) but then administered as a succeeding spot foul.
|
Quote:
My question is now suppose the runner gets tackled on the one yard line. How do you enforce it then? Is it enforced from the spot of the foul, or, do you follow the revision and enforce from the one yard line? If you say the latter, the offense gains an advantage because the defense made a spectacular play at the one yard line. My personal opinion is the foul has no material affect on the play and should be penalized as a dead ball personal; however, with no rule support I must continue to enforce by current rules. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49am. |