The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 23, 2007, 09:54pm
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwaz
What is the FED rule for this situation?
They did rule it correctly according to IW rules, and it is the same ruling in NF and also the NFL.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 25, 2007, 02:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 30
Using NFHS rules - I thought the IW called for a replay of the down back at the original LOS.
The only IW I ever witnessed were on scrimmage kicks that were muffed and someone blew an IW. Using the ruling applied in the Wisconsin - Iowa game, the ball was in the kickers possession and becomes loose at the kick. If there is a muff by R , then an IW , then recoverd by K or R , the ball should go back to the line where K kicked the ball and replayed .

Do I have this right ? IW's are rare but if I ever need to rule on one I want to get it right.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 25, 2007, 02:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by raiderfan
Using NFHS rules - I thought the IW called for a replay of the down back at the original LOS.
The only IW I ever witnessed were on scrimmage kicks that were muffed and someone blew an IW. Using the ruling applied in the Wisconsin - Iowa game, the ball was in the kickers possession and becomes loose at the kick. If there is a muff by R , then an IW , then recoverd by K or R , the ball should go back to the line where K kicked the ball and replayed .

Do I have this right ? IW's are rare but if I ever need to rule on one I want to get it right.
Wisconsin's Hill broke through the line and was about to score a 20-yard touchdown but Iowa's A.J. Edds forced a fumble just shy of the end zone. Iowa's Mike Humpal appeared to recover in the end zone but the ball squirted free toward the back of the end zone where Wisconsin's Marcus Coleman jumped on it.

After a long booth review the officials ruled that there was an inadvertent whistle on the play and the ball was placed on the Iowa three. Two plays later Wicsonsin's Donovan hit Beckum for a touchdown with 43 seconds left in the second quarter.

Take a look at the NFHS rule book on page 48, RULE 4 Sec. 2 Art. 3 a, b, c, & note.

Then another thing to review is http://football.refs.org/workshop/knowledge.html
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 25, 2007, 10:21pm
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by raiderfan
Using NFHS rules - I thought the IW called for a replay of the down back at the original LOS.


Do I have this right ? IW's are rare but if I ever need to rule on one I want to get it right.
You do not always have to replay the down from the PS. Rule 4-2-3 is not that long or hard but is critical that all officials know it VERY well cuz it can make a BIG difference in how you enforce the IW and how it affects the teams.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wisconsin v WSU Game Suudy Football 4 Tue Sep 04, 2007 11:46am
Wisconsin FB Officials ssmith Football 2 Tue Nov 01, 2005 09:26am
Wisconsin officials wisref2 Football 2 Fri Oct 14, 2005 09:49am
Wisconsin Coach gordon30307 Basketball 3 Fri Feb 11, 2005 12:29pm
Wisconsin LDUB Baseball 5 Sun Jul 25, 2004 10:59am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1