The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 07, 2007, 01:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: Wait a minute...force is most certainly a factor in this play. 2-13-4b does not apply to this play situation. 2-13-4b says that force is not a factor "...When a backward pass or fumble is declared dead in the end zone of the opponent of the player who passed or fumbled, with no player possession." This ball was not declared dead in the end zone. It rolled out of bounds beyond the end line.

The play which shows when you use 2-13-4b is this: PLAY: A1 fumbles on B's 5-yard line and B1's muff forces the loose ball into B's end zone where no player attempts to secure possession. Covering official finally blows the ball dead. RULING: Force is not a factor here since by rule 8-2-1c, the result of the play is a TD for Team A.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Touchback or Down on 1 KCRef Football 17 Mon Jan 08, 2007 03:55pm
Touchback or 1st down? wh52 Football 6 Sun Jan 22, 2006 12:01am
Touchback? bellsjc Football 3 Mon Sep 19, 2005 03:10pm
Is it a touchback?? wallrhut Football 4 Tue Oct 19, 2004 01:50am
Touchback....or not Patton Football 10 Tue Oct 14, 2003 08:00pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1