![]() |
|
|
|||
Touchback ??
Question 93, Part 2 test: It is a touchback if A1 fumbles on B's 5-yard line and B1's muff forces the loose ball into B's end zone and out of bounds beyond the end line. I have F because it would be a safety, I think. I need help with justification.
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Mike Sears |
|
|||
REPLY: Mike...you're correct of course, but note that the test question removes that possibility by saying "...and B1's muff forces the loose ball into B's end zone..." There's no ambiguity in this question at all.
__________________
Bob M. |
|
|||
Lawyering up....key... team possession....
Rule 2-13-4...Force is not a factor: b. When a backward pass or fumble is declared dead in the end zone of the opponent of the player who passed or fumbled, with no player possession. Rule 8-5-3... It is a touchback when: c. A fumble is the force, or a muff or bat of a backward pass or a fumble after either has touched the ground is the new force, which sends the ball to or across the the opponent's goal line and provided such opponent is in team possession or the ball is out of bounds when it becomes dead or behind dead on or behind its goal line. By these rules... It is a touchback... No player possession... Team A still had team possession. I'll let you read the whole rule... Rule 8-5-2 ... It is a safety when: b .....provided the ball becomes dead there in his team's possession... |
|
|||
Quote:
The second rule confuses me because it states that it is a touchback if the muffing of a grounded fumble causes the ball to go across the opponents goal line .... So if A is backed up against their own goal line and they fumble when B muffs the grounded fumble back into A's end zone it would become a touchback for A. In this case/question, since B's muff put it across B's goal line I don't think this rule applies. I do think that 2-13-4 makes it clear that the muffing is essentially ignored as a new force so I would agree with touchback as the ruling. In my mind this play looks something like this, A fumbles going in at the 3 yard line. A mess of bodies go after the loose ball and the ball is knocked across the goal line and out of bounds. Since the ball ends up in the beyond the goal line (is OOB considered in the end zone?), by 2-13-4, force is not considered a factor. This saves us from trying to determine who was the very last player to touch the ball in a pile of 6 guys all going for it just before it crosses the goal line. A put the ball into the end zone and out of bounds, touchback for B. Is my logic correct? |
|
|||
REPLY: Wait a minute...force is most certainly a factor in this play. 2-13-4b does not apply to this play situation. 2-13-4b says that force is not a factor "...When a backward pass or fumble is declared dead in the end zone of the opponent of the player who passed or fumbled, with no player possession." This ball was not declared dead in the end zone. It rolled out of bounds beyond the end line.
The play which shows when you use 2-13-4b is this: PLAY: A1 fumbles on B's 5-yard line and B1's muff forces the loose ball into B's end zone where no player attempts to secure possession. Covering official finally blows the ball dead. RULING: Force is not a factor here since by rule 8-2-1c, the result of the play is a TD for Team A.
__________________
Bob M. |
|
|||
Quote:
BTW, what was the actual answer to the question? Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Touchback or Down on 1 | KCRef | Football | 17 | Mon Jan 08, 2007 03:55pm |
Touchback or 1st down? | wh52 | Football | 6 | Sun Jan 22, 2006 12:01am |
Touchback? | bellsjc | Football | 3 | Mon Sep 19, 2005 03:10pm |
Is it a touchback?? | wallrhut | Football | 4 | Tue Oct 19, 2004 01:50am |
Touchback....or not | Patton | Football | 10 | Tue Oct 14, 2003 08:00pm |