The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Aug 22, 2007, 10:36am
Official Forum Member

Blocking below the waist.

I have a million questions since this is my first year as an NFHS official in Ohio (OHSAA). My question is about blocking below the waist, outside the free blocking zone, on defense.

A runs a sweep to the outside. B blocks the lead blocker below the waist on B's 40 yard line. A continues to advance the ball, picks up a first down, and is tackled at their own 40 yard line.

Do I give the option of enforcement from the spot of the foul or tack on 15 yards to the end of the run or something else? I could not find the answer in any of the books to this particular play, so a ruleset would also be very appriciated.

Thanks,
Austin.
Old Wed Aug 22, 2007, 10:58am
Official Forum Member

You need to go through the regular litany -

What type of play is it? - It's a running play.(10-3-2)
Where is the basic spot for a running play - It's the end of the run.(10-4-4)
What the the All-but-One principle say? - Go from the basic spot unless the foul is by A behind the basic spot (10-6).
Old Wed Aug 22, 2007, 11:40am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock

Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agreen_14
A runs a sweep to the outside. B blocks the lead blocker below the waist on B's 40 yard line. A continues to advance the ball, picks up a first down, and is tackled at their own 40 yard line.
CANADIAN RULING:

BBW outside the Close Line Play Area (tackle to tackle, and within 2 yards of the LS) is illegal and is a 10 yard penalty enforced, in this case, from the previous spot (Previous Line of Scrimmage), and DR (down repeated).
Old Wed Aug 22, 2007, 11:56am
Official Forum Member

Please don't confuse, I thought I stated it was NFHS, is Canadian NFHS?

So my first thinking was correct than right? 15 yards tacked on to the end of the run?