![]() |
NCAA Announcing Fouls
What would be the official "foul" when announcing for a rule such as 6-3-12, Team A player voluntarily going out of bounds and coming back in. The rulebook notes signal S19, yet they removed the ambiguous "Illegal Procedure" nomenclature a couple of years ago.
This is not the only example...there are quite a few fouls in the NCAA code that use S19 but are a mouthful to say. Is there any references of actual foul names that I could use? thanks |
How about "#85 of the kicking team illegally out of bounds"?
|
I suppose that would work.....I'm reading too much into it as I sometimes do. thanks
|
Is there a place online where I may see these signals?
(Recall that I'm Canadian, so I don't know what US signal #85 is.) |
REPLY: He didn't mean signal #85. Rather he meant that you could announce the "(player) #85 of the kicking team was illegally out of bounds."
NCAA signals can be found at http://www.ncaa.org/library/programs...ll_signals.pdf |
Quote:
|
I see the NCAA signal for tripping is the same as in Canada. I've had to signal that penalty once as the Referee. I thought I was going to fall and break my neck.
|
See if you can find Ben Dreith and ask him about proper announcements. He'll give you the good scoop.
|
REPLY: If I remember correctly, when Dreith gave his now famous "givin' him the business" announcement, he accompanied it with a rather unorthodox signal too, didn't he?
|
Right - I was trying to figure out why I'd never heard of this. Then I realized - I was nine years old at the time and had barely started watching football.
|
Quote:
That is why I love having a field mic. You can explain what happened, and are encouraged to do so in order that the coaches and fans understand what the foul was. As mentioned above you would say something like "illegal touching, #85, the player went OOB's and was the first player to touch the ball." |
S16 is illegal touching for the purposes of an otherwise eligible receiver that is first to touch a legal forward pass inbounds after voluntarily going out of bounds. Otherwise, going out of bounds by either team during a scrimmage down that doesn't involve a kick is legal (assuming they started the down inbounds)
S19 comes into play during a free kick (6-1-2-g) or scrimmage kick (6-3-12) where a player cannot voluntarily go out of bounds and return, regardless of whether or not he touches the ball. Speaking of field mics, where is the best place to get one? We have a guy in our HS association that has one and knows how to pipe it in to the PA system at most of our schools. |
Quote:
He verbalized the foul just as described in the summary of penalties section of the book for the appropriate foul S19 was used for. Like around 18 or so different fouls. Game management dictates whether you use a Mic or not. I certainly wouldn't advise showing up to a game with your own expecting to use it. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36am. |