The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Illegal Formation - NFL Rule Question (https://forum.officiating.com/football/32845-illegal-formation-nfl-rule-question.html)

GPC2 Sat Mar 17, 2007 11:28pm

Illegal Formation - NFL Rule Question
 
Did a semi-pro game tonight (they use NFL rules) and I'm not sure if I ruled properly.

QUESTION: If the wide receiver covers up the tight end (both on the LOS), is it Illegal Formation regardless of whether it is a running play or a passing play??

MJT Sun Mar 18, 2007 09:04am

Correct for the NFL. I am a referee at the same level.

Robert Goodman Sun Mar 18, 2007 10:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by GPC2
Did a semi-pro game tonight (they use NFL rules) and I'm not sure if I ruled properly.

QUESTION: If the wide receiver covers up the tight end (both on the LOS), is it Illegal Formation regardless of whether it is a running play or a passing play??

Did the "covered" player "report ineligible" (eligible number at ineligible position) to the ref between downs?

GPC2 Sun Mar 18, 2007 12:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman
Did the "covered" player "report ineligible" (eligible number at ineligible position) to the ref between downs?

No he didn't. The receiver just made a mistake and lined up incorrectly.

MJT Sun Mar 18, 2007 02:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman
Did the "covered" player "report ineligible" (eligible number at ineligible position) to the ref between downs?

Doesn't matter if he reports or not. Even an eligible numbered player is going to be called for a foul if covered up in the NFL. That is how their rule reads.

Robert Goodman Sun Mar 18, 2007 09:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MJT
Doesn't matter if he reports or not. Even an eligible numbered player is going to be called for a foul if covered up in the NFL. That is how their rule reads.

Yes, but one of the commonest variants used by leagues that'll tell you they're playing by strict NFL rules is to allow both eligible numbers to report ineligible and vice versa, as long as they do it before every down. (Mostly it's because of shortages of players and shirts.) Then again, it's not the officials' fault if the league never tells them about it. If the player were to report like that to the referee, I would take that as evidence that their league allows it. That evidence could be contradicted if the umpire reports it to the other team's captain and they say, "We don't allow that!"

Robert

NickelDeuce Mon Mar 19, 2007 10:59am

MJT is correct. This is a foul on any play. Running or passing. They must line up correctly to start with.

tmref Mon Mar 19, 2007 06:42pm

It is a foul at the snap as MJT stated. However, an ineligible player may take an eligible position or an eligible player may take an ineligible position as long as he reports to the referee before the play. The latter most often happens on punts when the long snapper is wearing an eligible number.

golfnref Tue Mar 20, 2007 06:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tmref
It is a foul at the snap as MJT stated. However, an ineligible player may take an eligible position or an eligible player may take an ineligible position as long as he reports to the referee before the play. The latter most often happens on punts when the long snapper is wearing an eligible number.

We finally have the correct answer to the original question. NFL Rule 7.2.3


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1