The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 08, 2001, 04:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Two weeks ago, I was FJ for an intramural flag football game. Team A had the ball 4th and long, and decided to punt. The ball was kicked, but due to the wind, it did not travel very far. The ball bounced off the ground, and then R1 touched the ball (trying to catch it), but he only tipped the ball up into the air. K1 then caught the ball, and ran short of the line-to-gain. Our crew ruled that because K did not reach the line-to-gain in four downs, it was R's ball.

My questions are:
(1) Was this correct - team A/K needs to reach the line-to-gain no matter what?

(2) Would the situation be any different had R caught the ball and then fumbled it?

I'd like to know what the rulings would be under NF and NCAA rules, if possible.

Thanks.
So the NF answers would be:

(1) No, it wasn't correct. As has been stated, if R touches the ball first, beyond the LOS, then the team in possession at the end of the down will get a new series of downs.

(2) Only in that K would be able to advance the ball, had it been fumbled and not muffed.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1