The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Tackle Eligible (https://forum.officiating.com/football/29353-tackle-eligible.html)

MD Longhorn Thu Nov 09, 2006 04:05pm

No Fed rule refers to the area between the tackles at all?

HawkeyeCubP Thu Nov 09, 2006 04:14pm

Actually, the words "guard" and "tackle" do appear in both the NFHS Rule and Case Book. Semantics again, but they are Fed-used terms, so I feel it's okay to use them in the proper contexts, (provided the user knows what they're talking about).

Forksref Thu Nov 09, 2006 08:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by parepat
I don't think I agree with this statement. Are you saying that if he lines up next to the guard with no other player beyond him on the LOS that he is not a tackle , but an end? I' would say that he is a tackle that is an eligible receiver if he has the proper number. Likewise in the muddle huddle the center is still a center even though he is on the end of the line.

I think I'm arguing over semantics.

Yep, you are. On the END of the line makes him an END, regardless of how far from the snapper he is. Heck, the snapper can be an END if no one covers him up... and if he has an eligible number, he can be an eligible receiver.

BktBallRef Sun Nov 12, 2006 03:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
Actually, the words "guard" and "tackle" do appear in both the NFHS Rule and Case Book. Semantics again, but they are Fed-used terms, so I feel it's okay to use them in the proper contexts, (provided the user knows what they're talking about).

I did not say the words did not appear in the rule book. I said that the rule book does NOT recognize A GUARD or A TACKLE. THe fact that I placed an "A" in front of the words means that the word is a noun, not a verb.

The fact remains that the rule book does not recognize the terms with regard to where a player is positioned.

Here endeth the English lesson.

bluezebra Sun Nov 12, 2006 07:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by parepat
I don't think I agree with this statement. Are you saying that if he lines up next to the guard with no other player beyond him on the LOS that he is not a tackle , but an end? I' would say that he is a tackle that is an eligible receiver if he has the proper number. Likewise in the muddle huddle the center is still a center even though he is on the end of the line.

I think I'm arguing over semantics.

No semantics. If a player has an eligible number, and is on the end of his line, he's an END, no matter if he's lined up next to the guard or the center, or is the snapper. END means END.

Bob

HawkeyeCubP Mon Nov 13, 2006 02:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
I did not say the words did not appear in the rule book. I said that the rule book does NOT recognize A GUARD or A TACKLE. THe fact that I placed an "A" in front of the words means that the word is a noun, not a verb.

The fact remains that the rule book does not recognize the terms with regard to where a player is positioned.

Here endeth the English lesson.

Thank you for the English lesson, but both words appear as nouns in both books. So actually, the Rule Book (and Case Book) does recognize these terms in relation to where a player is positioned before/at the snap.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1