![]() |
|
|
|||
I'm sure the original poster was not referring to the defense (which we commonly call Team-B) as the team who was out of TOs. He said the RB (running back) was the one attempting to call the TO. He probably didn't even realize how he worded the conditions, "B" is the offense in his play.
Read whatever you want into the reason the RB was trying to call a TO, but when no TO's are left, officials have to ignore the request. Sure hit them up for a delay if the 25 second clock expires, but ignore the request. It was clear to me this was a planned deception to get the defense to relax which was also stated in the play. |
|
|||
Quote:
How was it clear to you? I have nothing on this play absent evidence that it was designed to confuse the defense. The original poster offered none in this case. |
|
|||
Quote:
Bossman and Parepat - MJT has the right idea on this one. Think within the framework of the intent of the rule - if it affects the defense (let alone the ENTIRE defense) kill it as an unfair act. It's an easy sell, in my opinion. |
|
|||
This sounds like a flawed play from the start - A does not seem to be set for a second and B has relaxed. The way I see it in my mind, it's an illegal shift - maybe a false start. I'd really like to shut this play down but I think I'd just have to flag it and let it go.
The only way I'd call USC is if A was signalling for a time out and then all of a sudden, as a team , they stopped, got set and went as if on cue. I just don't think a coach would be "smart" enough for a trick play like this for situation where he had no time outs. |
|
|||
Quote:
I'm sure you might get some objection from coaches about that. ![]() Personally, I never underestimate a coach's ability to teach his kids the most complicated trick plays while not mastering the ability to teach his kids to block and tackle. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|