![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
The nfl rulebook is very difficult to find. I think the rule might be 3-7, but I don't have the rulebook in front of me. That just seems to stick out in my memory from the discussion after the Troy Palamalu situation.
Football is not my sport, but I thought I remember hearing about some clarifications for precisely this issue. As noted already in this thread, the rules (interpretations?) were changed to be more possession friendly -- that is, to maintain possession for the receiving team and avoid difficult gray area fumble/not fumble situations. That, of course, is the irony of last night. The rule that was invoked to make it an incomplete pass was one intended to protect the offense and avoid calling a fumble, but since the ball went out of bounds (instead of in the hands of a defender) the rule worked against the offensive team. Anyway, as I thought I understood what was being discussed after the rule changes, there are two situations -- first is where the player establishes a legal catch before a tackle starts and the second is where the tackle is in progress before the catch has been established. Not sure if I'm saying that right, but essentially, if the player possesses the ball and establishes both feet in bounds, and then makes the infamaous "football move," it's a catch, and a subsequent loss of posession before the end of the play will be a fumble. The caveat, though, is where a player on the other team begins a tackle before the catch is established. In this second situation, the player needs to maintain control throughout, down to the ground. Seems like Belichick knew the rule and quickly reminded the official on the spot, and it was upheld. Or I'm crazy and just misremembering all this and it was a questionable call. Last edited by rulesmaven; Tue Oct 31, 2006 at 04:01pm. |
|
|||
|
NFL rule 3-2-7:
A player is in possession when he is in firm grip and control of the ball inbounds. To gain possession of a loose ball that has been caught, intercepted or recovered, a player must have complete control of the ball and have both feet completly on the ground inbounds or any other part of his body, other than his hands, on the ground inbounds. If the player loses the ball while simultaneously touching both feet or any other part of his body to the ground if there is anby doubt that the acts were simultaneous, there is no possession. A catch is made when a palyer inbounds secures possession of a pass, kick or fumble in flight. 8-1-5: Any forward pass legal or illegal becomes incompelte and the ball is dead immediately if the pass strikes the ground or goes out of bounds. Sorry for the misspells. I'm on my way out the door. |
|
|||
|
Good point 3will. The endzone, in the NFL, is officiated by the officials on the field the same way as any other place on the field, but it's officiated differently in the replay booth. The guys on the field will still call that pass incomplete but replay may reverse it to a TD.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
"Booze, broads, and bullsh!t. If you got all that, what else do you need?"." - Harry Caray - |
|
|||
|
Quote:
All that said, as I said, I have no idea if I'm actually correct about the interpretation. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Monday Night Football | bluezebra | Football | 1 | Tue Sep 26, 2006 01:01am |
| Monday Night Football on ESPN | schwinn | Football | 13 | Tue Feb 14, 2006 05:54pm |
| KCI from Monday Night Football | ChickenOfNC | Football | 3 | Tue Oct 11, 2005 08:16pm |
| Monday Night Football Officials | BigJWalt | Football | 7 | Wed Dec 17, 2003 05:19pm |
| Monday night football | devdog69 | Football | 3 | Tue Oct 09, 2001 09:35pm |