![]() |
Question on Penalty Enforcement
Friday night's game (HS Varsity)...two flags on the same play. 3rd down and 7 on the defender's 12 yard line...The first flag was holding called on our slot back (it was a great call, the kid did it and got caught). After the whistle was blown, the defender who was held, turned and kneed our slot back in the stomach - flag was tossed...the crew got together and talked about it, then marched off 10 yards for the holding, then 15 yards for the USC, and told us it was 4th and two...since the holding call was accepted, shouldn't third down have been replayed? The WH explained that since there were two flags thrown, we couldn't have the down over...is that correct??
|
That was incorrect. Down should have been replayed.
|
Quote:
|
You had a live ball foul, followed by a dead ball foul.
Enforce the live ball foul as you normally would. Since a hold is not a loss of down foul, part of the penalty acceptance enforcement is to repeat the down. Then enforce the dead ball foul against Team-B, the down is still the same. result: and I will assume the team-A hold was at B-12 since you didn't say where that foul really was. Team-A's ball 3rd and 6 at the B-11. Note: the dead ball foul while being 15 yards can only be enforced as half the distance from the B-22. |
Thanks everyone...that was what we thought, but considering the time and score of the game, we weren't going to put up too much of an argument...and yes, the hold was essentially at the LOS as the slot back pretty much tackled the outside backer as he stepped up against our sweep... it is interesting that not only did they mess up the down, but they marched off the full 15 yards for the USC foul. Guess we lost some/gained some on that one.
|
Canadian Ruling
Quote:
Ends up Team A 1D/10 @ B-11. |
REPLY: You're also right that the penalty should have been of the 'half-the-distance' variety. BTW...the foul you describe by your opppnents was not unsportsmanlike conduct; it was a personal foul. They may have messed that up as well.
|
NCAA: Mark the live ball hold. Then turn and mark the DB PF half the distance and AFD.
|
Quote:
Does that really make a difference what you call it? I never really knew there was a difference. I just thought that USC was a type of personal foul... |
Quote:
1. A USC foul must be marked down cuz if the same player gets a second USC, he is ejected. 2. All USC fouls are noncontact fouls. You cannot have a contact USC foul. 3. All USC fouls are enforced from the SSpot, whether they are LB or DB fouls. It is very important for reasons 1 and 3 above that you call them correctly as USC or PF. Remember ALL USC fouls are noncontact. That can help you keep them straight. Punch, kick, late hit,... PFouls -- swearing, taunting, spiking the ball,... USC and counts towards ejection if 2 are given to same player. |
Quote:
Illegal interference (9.1.4.a) might also be a contact USC - depending on what happened, but a sub or coach tackling the ball carrier on a breakaway out of the team zone would be one (had that happen here a few years ago!). Ok, I guess it is to be nit-picky, but everyone here likes to say that we shouldn't make generalizations. James |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Rockyroad,
Just curious, did they eject the player who kneed your guy in the stomach? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
This should have been PF, not USC. Personal fouls are contact fouls. |
When the player retaliated by kneeing his opponent in the stomach, that very well could have led to disqualification as well. Striking an opponnet with fist or locked hands, forearm or elbow or kicking or kneeing him is fighting, and is a PF and DQ. (9-5-3l)
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12am. |