The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 19, 2006, 02:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 762
There have been many debates over this rule when the foul occurs against the passer, but the way the rule is currently written and because the passer is also eligible to catch a pass then that would be the correct ruling. Here is the rule.

Rule 9-3-4-e. When a legal forward pass crosses the neutral zone during a foward pass play and a contact foul that is not pass interference is committed, the enforcement spot is the previous spot.

Penalty: 5, 10, or 15 yards from the basic spot, plus first down if the foul occurred against an eligible receiver prior to the pass being touched.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 19, 2006, 02:45pm
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonTX
There have been many debates over this rule when the foul occurs against the passer, but the way the rule is currently written and because the passer is also eligible to catch a pass then that would be the correct ruling. Here is the rule.

Rule 9-3-4-e. When a legal forward pass crosses the neutral zone during a foward pass play and a contact foul that is not pass interference is committed, the enforcement spot is the previous spot.

Penalty: 5, 10, or 15 yards from the basic spot, plus first down if the foul occurred against an eligible receiver prior to the pass being touched.
I know the rule Jason, but is the intent of that to also award that in the case of the QB getting fouled as in this case? Not saying it is wrong, just wondering if there are any AR's which show this with that being the explanation.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 19, 2006, 03:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by MJT
I know the rule Jason, but is the intent of that to also award that in the case of the QB getting fouled as in this case? Not saying it is wrong, just wondering if there are any AR's which show this with that being the explanation.
No one knows. By the wording of the rule, yes. But as this has been debated ad nauseum and to no definitive conclusion as to how we would not enforce this particular rule when the foul victim is the QB, we have to go with the rule itself. No AR mimics this or clarifies the QB as being an exception to the "any eligible receiver" part of this rule. There are many who feel this is wrong, but we have no recourse with the current rulebook.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 19, 2006, 03:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
I thought there was a JA memo last year that stated that a foul against the QB on a play such as this was not going to get team-A an auto-1st down.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm
Please Clarify: Official's Gear WrestleRef Wrestling 1 Thu Nov 27, 2003 10:16pm
Let me clarify the situation on my player being touched CoaachJF Basketball 7 Wed Feb 26, 2003 07:07am
Please clarify this for me. dhamby6187 Softball 7 Wed Apr 24, 2002 09:28am
please clarify the admin of free throws NFHS ronjay42 Basketball 9 Thu Apr 06, 2000 12:03am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1