The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Substitution question (https://forum.officiating.com/football/28892-substitution-question.html)

ChickenOfNC Sun Oct 15, 2006 09:19pm

Substitution question
 
Possibly a two part question:

I realize under 3-7-3 that it is illegal for a substitute to become a player and then withdraw and vice versa during the same dead ball period. However, is it legal for the 11th player, who wrongly thinks he's the 12th player, to leave the field, realize his mistake, and then return?

Part 2 (If the above situation is legal): If this player is an offensive player, and before leaving the field had established himself between the 9 yard marks after the RFP, must he re-establish himself between the 9's when he returns to the field?

(All of this assuming an absence of intent to deceive, etc.)

Theisey Sun Oct 15, 2006 09:47pm

Depends on who you believe.

Casebook 3.7.3 Sit A: is your play.
NFHS says this is illegal.
Redding guide says it's not. I happen to believe the Redding guide and their comentary as to why he wasn't a substitute when he returned prior to the snap.

As far as your part II goes, that's a damn good question. I've not really thought about that even after knowing the Redding interpretation on this.
I would have to then say YES, he should be required to touch up inside the 9-yard marks.

waltjp Sun Oct 15, 2006 11:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Theisey
Depends on who you believe.

Casebook 3.7.3 Sit A: is your play.
NFHS says this is illegal.
Redding guide says it's not. I happen to believe the Redding guide and their comentary as to why he wasn't a substitute when he returned prior to the snap.

Interesting point about Theisey's reply - last year Redding said this was illegal and the NFHS said it was legal. This year's editions of both books have this interpretation marked as a change. :confused:

Bob M. Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:15am

REPLY: I'd love to know under what rule the Fed decided to make this illegal. The definition of a "player" (which this guy is) says that he "...continues to be a player until a substitute enters the field and indicates to the player that he is replaced, or when the substitute otherwise becomes a player." Neither of these two things happened, so he's still a player. And 3-7-3 says that he can't "...withdraw and re-enter as a substitute." He didn't do that either. Looks like another case of the Fed making up a ruling with no rule support.

andy1033 Mon Oct 16, 2006 01:28pm

I agree with BOB M. What happens if the player goes next to the sideline and steps on the sideline before the snap and then comes back onto the field before the snap?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1