The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 06, 2001, 02:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 508
Interesting Situation. Second and 10 at the 50. A. Commits and offensive pass interference. Penalty is assessed but the referee and crew erroneously do not penalize the loss of down. B's coaches scream but are unable to get a time out prior to A running the next play, which the crew has as 2nd. B then gets a timeout and request a coach-referee conference. If you are the referee, what do you do.

Thoughts. Conference rule states you can't change misapplication of the rules after the ball has been snapped for the next down. However, isn't the mistake on the down being perpetuated with every down until the end of the series, thus, one can argue that the correction can occur until the series has ended. Our association could not agree on a clear cut solution. Help. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1