The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 05, 2006, 06:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ_NV
Now the question that some ask is, does a recovery with no actual 'run' constitute a run?

Example: 2/10 from the A-30. Pass is complete to A81 at the A-36 who runs to the A-45 and fumbles. A85 recovers the ball at the A-40 while on his knees. Do you enforce from the A-45 or the A-40?
(And there was roughing the passer.)

Under NFHS rules, no. Enforce from A-45. Rulebook justification is tough, since it doesn't define "run", just "end of the run" and "runner". But casebook 9.4.4D addresses this very play.

I believe, under NCAA rules, yes, the recovery creates a final, zero-length run. Therefore, enforce from the A-40.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Roughing the passer DrMooreReferee Football 7 Wed Jun 07, 2006 10:40am
Roughing the Passer Suudy Football 11 Fri Nov 04, 2005 02:35pm
Roughing the Passer waltjp Football 6 Wed Oct 05, 2005 10:57am
roughing the passer... Texoma_LJ Football 6 Wed Jul 27, 2005 11:24pm
Roughing the passer michaelpr Football 21 Sat Jul 23, 2005 08:51am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1