![]() |
Late Sub
I'm white hat in a 9th grade NFHS game. I blow the RFP while A is in their huddle. A breaks their huddle and as they are approaching the line, A's coach sends in a sub who joins his team inside the numbers. The player he subs for gets to A's sideline before the snap. No delay of game as A gets the ball sapped in time. However, B's coach is going nuts because we "allowed them to sub too late for us to counter their sub!"
After the game, he insists that subs have to be at the numbers or inside them when the ready blows that way be has a chance to sub. I can't find it anywhere. Did I just blow it? Thanks. 4eyes:eek: |
Quote:
Nope, I can't say I recall any rules similar to that. |
I would say you are correct.
7-2-1 says that the player only has to be in the 9yard marks after the ready for play (If I'm not mistaken... this is why we have the 9 yard marks, to prevent the offense of that kind of substitute deception) Also 3-7 deals with substitutes coming in between downs, nothing to do with the RFP. |
7-2-1 After the ball is marked ready for play, each player of A who participated in the previous down and each substitute for A must have been, momentarily, between the 9-yard marks, before the snap.
Note that this does not say BEFORE the RFP. This has nothing to do with B's ability to sub his players. You got it right. :) |
Tell coach to read 7-2-1, and tell him pay close attention to how the first word is not "BEFORE."
7-2-1: "After the ball is marked ready for play, each player of A who participated in the previous down and each substitute for A must have been, momentarily, between the 9-yard marks, before the snap." |
All players must be inside the marks at some point between the RFP and the snap.
You can substitute at any time, but the player coming on must go between the marks at some point before the snap. |
...or the coach might be thinking of NCAA rules that allow defense to sub when the offense does. Or he might be like most coaches and not understand the rules correctly.
|
So, what if the O breaks the huddle with 10, then right before they snap it, a player comes running off the sidelines, into the 9 yard marks, then they snap the ball?
Legal? PS- Where are the 9 yard marks located? Would that be about where the numbers are? |
The tops of the numbers are 9 yards from the sideline, thats why if the field is marked with numbers there are no need for the 9 yard marks.
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17am. |