The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Overtime blocked FG (https://forum.officiating.com/football/28274-overtime-blocked-fg.html)

phansen Wed Sep 13, 2006 03:49pm

Overtime blocked FG
 
Concerning Overtime, is it a dead ball if the FG attempt by A is blocked by B?

Behind the LOS?

Beyond the LOS?

Theisey Wed Sep 13, 2006 04:03pm

Unfortunately, your answer will be state dependent. I can't give you a specific answer.

Here in NY, we use the states version of OT. Any time Team-B gains possession of the ball, team-A's series if over and team-B starts their series.

So in the case of a blocked FG, until team-B gets possession, it's still live for team-A while it's behind the NZ. If it goes beyond, then normal scrimmage kick rules apply for team-A. Regardless once team-B gets control, the down is over.

JRutledge Wed Sep 13, 2006 04:03pm

In the back of the rulebook, the rules say the series is over if the defense gains possession of the ball. I would not say the ball is dead immediately, but if B gains possession I would think that would cause the ball to become dead. Without any specific information that I can find, I would say that the ball is not dead and if A gets the ball they can return the ball for points. Now this is of course if your state uses the NF procedure and does not modify those rules, which is what I have heard some states do.

Peace

BktBallRef Wed Sep 13, 2006 09:35pm

Under NFHS OT rules....
 
Behind the LOS? No. K can pick the ball up and advance it.

Beyond the LOS? Basically, it would be as K can't advance the ball under any circumstances and it's dead if R picks it up. If R is stupid and muffs it, then we've got problems.

Suudy Wed Sep 13, 2006 10:04pm

But since first downs can be acheive in overtime, what is done with a muffed missed FG by B? I'm thinking Fed rules. As I understand it, we treat a missed FG like any scrimmage kick (please correct me if I am wrong).

A's ball, 4th and goal from B's 25. The attempted FG is partially blocks and is rolling at B's 5. B1 muffs the ball and A1 recovers at B's 5.

Do we go 1st and goal for A from B's 5?

Rich Wed Sep 13, 2006 10:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Suudy
But since first downs can be acheive in overtime, what is done with a muffed missed FG by B? I'm thinking Fed rules. As I understand it, we treat a missed FG like any scrimmage kick (please correct me if I am wrong).

A's ball, 4th and goal from B's 25. The attempted FG is partially blocks and is rolling at B's 5. B1 muffs the ball and A1 recovers at B's 5.

Do we go 1st and goal or A from B's 5?

That would be hard in my state as we start 1/G from the 10.

Middleman Thu Sep 14, 2006 09:38am

Offensive Pass Interference on 3rd and ten would result in 4th and goal from the 25. Not too difficult to imagine.

[edited for Duh! referenced below]

Bob M. Thu Sep 14, 2006 09:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Middleman
Offensive Pass Interference on 3rd and ten would result in 4th and ten from the 25. Not too difficult to imagine.

REPLY: But wouldn't it be 4th and goal?

Middleman Thu Sep 14, 2006 10:09am

Duh!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Bob M.
REPLY: But wouldn't it be 4th and goal?

Duh! Duh! Double Duh!! Of course it would be. My bad.

Bob M. Thu Sep 14, 2006 10:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Middleman
Duh! Duh! Double Duh!! Of course it would be. My bad.

REPLY: We all have these "senior moments." Now...what was it we were talking about? :confused:

Suudy Thu Sep 14, 2006 10:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bob M.
REPLY: We all have these "senior moments." Now...what was it we were talking about? :confused:

A recovers a muffed missed FG.

A's ball, 4th and goal from B's 25. The attempted FG is partially blocked and is rolling at B's 5. B1 muffs the ball and A1 recovers at B's 5.

Do we go 1st and goal for A from B's 5?

I know the touching at the line (partial block) is ignored. But what about the muff at B's 5. Can A recover after the muff and get a new series in the same OT period?

MD Longhorn Thu Sep 14, 2006 10:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Fronheiser
That would be hard in my state as we start 1/G from the 10.

But not impossible. A is sacked badly twice, it's 3rd and goal from the 31, when B gets called for DPI. 1st and 10 from the 16. So what's the answer, then, in your area to the muffed blocked FG at the 5 yard line?

MD Longhorn Thu Sep 14, 2006 10:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Suudy
A recovers a muffed missed FG.

A's ball, 4th and goal from B's 25. The attempted FG is partially blocked and is rolling at B's 5. B1 muffs the ball and A1 recovers at B's 5.

Do we go 1st and goal for A from B's 5?

I know the touching at the line (partial block) is ignored. But what about the muff at B's 5. Can A recover after the muff and get a new series in the same OT period?

No - they still didn't make the line to gain... but see above.

Middleman Thu Sep 14, 2006 11:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder
No - they still didn't make the line to gain... but see above.

Yes, it's first and goal from the 5. See Page 84, 5-2-1b, 5-3-1. Also, if the distance to the goal line is greater than 10 yards it is still 1st and goal. See Page 86, 3.1.1 Sit Q.

Suudy Thu Sep 14, 2006 11:42am

I'm thinking NFHS. I don't pretend to know the NCAA ruling.

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder
No - they still didn't make the line to gain... but see above.

Does that matter? Let's talk a punt. A's ball, 4th and 30 from A's 20. Punt is partially blocked and is rolling at A's 40. B1 muffs the punt and A1 falls on the ball on A's 40. Ruling?

1st and 10 for A from A's 40, regardless of reaching the line to gain.

Aren't missed FG treated like any other scrimmage kick? Cross the GL and touchback, short of the GL, just like any other scrimmage kick.

Middleman Thu Sep 14, 2006 03:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder
But not impossible. A is sacked badly twice, it's 3rd and goal from the 31, when B gets called for DPI. 1st and 10 from the 16. So what's the answer, then, in your area to the muffed blocked FG at the 5 yard line?

Not in FED overtime. First and GOAL at the 16. See Page 86, 3.1.1 Sit Q.

Texas Aggie Thu Sep 14, 2006 09:30pm

NCAA: ball continues in play assuming it isn't dead otherwise. If Team B scores, the game is over.

gberry Fri Sep 15, 2006 07:19am

Our O.T. procedure in Gerogia states that if B gains possession the series is over. Since this is a field goal attempt, the ball remains alive until the kick crosses the goal line or until it is otherwise down by rule, including recovery by B.

Suudy Fri Sep 15, 2006 10:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by gberry
Our O.T. procedure in Gerogia states that if B gains possession the series is over. Since this is a field goal attempt, the ball remains alive until the kick crosses the goal line or until it is otherwise down by rule, including recovery by B.

It does vary state to state. But doesn't the OT procedure indicate that each team gets one series? And if the FG attempt is still live, and A recovers the muff by B, A is awarded a new series. Do we say that A's series is over for that OT period? Or do we say that each team gets one series, unless a new series is awarded?

Warrenkicker Fri Sep 15, 2006 12:07pm

I think it would probably be better stated to say that A gets the ball until B is awarded a new series. Even though the wording of the rules would say there are a maximum of four numbered downs in a series the ruling in the back of the book says that first downs may be awarded for many reasons.

Under Resolving Tied Games in the back of the rules book.
During an overtime period each team has an opportunity for an offensive series of downs.

5-1-1 The team which next puts the ball in play by scrimmage following a free-kick, touchback or fair catch is awarded a series of four consecutively numbered downs in which to advance the ball to the line to gain. Each awarded first down starts a new series of four downs.

5-1-2
a. After a first, second or third down, a new series of downs shall be awarded only after considering the effect of any act during the down and any dead-ball foul by B.
b. After a fourth down, a new series of downs shall be awarded only after considering the effect of any act during the down, except a non-player or unsportsmanlike foul.

Then under the rulings under Resolving Tied Games in the back
5-2-1: The offensive team shall be awarded a new series of downs when any one of the following occurs:
a. Penalty for defensive pass interference is accepted.
b. Offensive team recovers a scrimmage kick (field-goal attempt) between the goal lines after it has been touched first by the defensive team beyond the neutral zone.
c. Defensive team is guilty of roughing the kicker, place-kick holder, snapper or passer.

So A may be awarded a new series even though the original statement about overtime says that there is only one series allowed (an offensive series of downs).


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1