The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 29, 2006, 03:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Mullica Hill, NJ
Posts: 798
[QUOTE]Originally posted by The Roamin' Umpire
Quote:

I'm not sure if I'm correcting or merely clarifying what you wrote, but for NFHS, here's my take on this situation.

If you judge that R provided a new force with the muff (obviously, then, it hit the ground first), then when K recovers behind their own goal line and it becomes dead there, it's not just a first down - it's a touchback.
This was the situation I was trying to articulate. Still have some Percocet in my system I guess. In NCAA ball I want to know that even if K recovers a kick that has crossed the NZ is it still considered a safety EVEN WHEN the receiving team provides a new force of the ball and K recovers behind his own goal line?

In Fed ball K can advance a ball even if it was touched beyond the NZ. In NCAA ball it appears from what I'm reading is it becomes dead immediately. I would think this would be a touchback situation but it's not clear from the AR's that are available.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1