The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Uncle Ernie is at it again , Jan quiz (https://forum.officiating.com/football/24579-uncle-ernie-again-jan-quiz.html)

James Neil Sun Jan 29, 2006 06:37pm


[B][QUOTE]Originally posted by James Neil



Agree with all of Roamin Ump's rulings.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~

Must have been all the Cuba Libras :confused:. Yo mida la luse orita :D



[Edited by James Neil on Jan 30th, 2006 at 12:01 PM]

James Neil Sun Jan 29, 2006 06:41pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jim S
Ya know Jimmy, if you'd just wait for the sheriff to deliver that warrant you wouldn't have to spend so much time in Mexico.......

LOL Hey amigo! Just let me know when it's safe to return. It's hell getting games down here :D

mcrowder Mon Jan 30, 2006 02:08pm

You guys don't have a 4th down fumble rule in FED? So, if it's 4th down and you haven't reached the LTG, might as well fumble it and see what happens, especially if you can accidentally fumble it forward.

NCAA ruling on 1 - B declines the foul. B's ball, 1st and 10 at their own 15 to start the 2nd quarter.

Jim S Mon Jan 30, 2006 04:28pm

That's true, but you run the chance of having someone see what you're doing and call the illegal forward pass.

The Roamin' Umpire Mon Jan 30, 2006 09:29pm

Quote:

Originally posted by James Neil
Good stuff RU. I agree with all rulings. In Oregon for the past two years we'd let the play go in # 5 and have A replay the try from the B-1.5. Not sure if we'll go this way again this year. One question I have for #6. Since we're replaying the down won’t we go back to the previous clock status even thou the play ended up as an incomplete pass? [/B]
I'd like it if they kept the ball live on tries, but oh well.

To my knowledge, there is only one situation where the clock status after play #1 will affect the clock status after play #2: if the clock expired during play #1 and something happens causing play #2 to be an untimed down, then play #3 (the "replay") will be an untimed down because play #2 was an untimed down.

The case where play #2 is a free kick is similar, but even if play #3 (the "replay") is also free kick, its clock status is the way it is solely because it's a free kick, and not particularly because of the clock status before play #2.

Re-reading this, it looks confusing as all get out. The short answer is: no, the clock status before the last down doesn't affect the clock status before the next one. Only the action during the last down matters.

James Neil Mon Jan 30, 2006 10:28pm

Quote:

Originally posted by The Roamin' Umpire
Quote:

Originally posted by James Neil
Good stuff RU. I agree with all rulings. In Oregon for the past two years we'd let the play go in # 5 and have A replay the try from the B-1.5. Not sure if we'll go this way again this year. One question I have for #6. Since we're replaying the down won’t we go back to the previous clock status even thou the play ended up as an incomplete pass?
I'd like it if they kept the ball live on tries, but oh well.

To my knowledge, there is only one situation where the clock status after play #1 will affect the clock status after play #2: if the clock expired during play #1 and something happens causing play #2 to be an untimed down, then play #3 (the "replay") will be an untimed down because play #2 was an untimed down.

The case where play #2 is a free kick is similar, but even if play #3 (the "replay") is also free kick, its clock status is the way it is solely because it's a free kick, and not particularly because of the clock status before play #2.

Re-reading this, it looks confusing as all get out. The short answer is: no, the clock status before the last down doesn't affect the clock status before the next one. Only the action during the last down matters. [/B]
LOL yah RU it does seem a little confusing but I do get the picture now. Well I think I do LOL But let me ask this. Lets say team A has called a time-out and then runs a play that ends in the field of play but they must replay because of an accepted penalty. When are we going to start the clock?

The Roamin' Umpire Thu Feb 02, 2006 04:55pm

Quote:

Originally posted by James Neil
LOL yah RU it does seem a little confusing but I do get the picture now. Well I think I do LOL But let me ask this. Lets say team A has called a time-out and then runs a play that ends in the field of play but they must replay because of an accepted penalty. When are we going to start the clock? [/B]
On the ready. The timeout has no effect after we've run a play, even one with a foul causing the down to be repeated.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1