![]() |
Fourth and 10 from team Rs 40 yard line. K1s punt hits the ground at team Rs four yard line. The ball is almost at rest when R2 kicks the ball through the end zone. Ruling:
|
Depends if the kick was intentional or unintentional.
Unintentional: Touchback Intentional: PSK - 1st and 10 from the 10. |
Could the result be 1st and 10 for R AT THE 2?
|
Quote:
intentional but do you do half the distance? or the spot is behind the basic spot, right? [Edited by tpaul on Jan 13th, 2006 at 11:12 PM] |
Snake-eyes....say it isn't so!
|
?
|
Intentional: PSK - 1st and 10 from the 10. ?????
|
In both cases the kick went into the endzone so the result of the play is touchback. When the final result of the play is a touchback penalty enforcement is from the succeding spot.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
If it was intentional, it is an illegal kick. The basic spot is the SSpot since the final result was a TB, but the foul by A was behind the BS, so enforce from the spot of the foul. We would enforce 1/2 distance from the 4, so A's ball 1-10 from the 2 yard line.
|
Quote:
|
Say the kicking is unintentional. On a punt that travels into the end zone, the kicking team provides the force that sends the ball into the receiving team's end zone, which is a touchback. But here, the receiving team provides the force to send the ball into its own end zone. Could this case therefore result in a safety?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47am. |