The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Stump the Chump reborn (https://forum.officiating.com/football/23686-stump-chump-reborn.html)

Bob M. Wed Dec 14, 2005 09:50am

OK...time to get this train rolling again. Here's the first installment:

<b>PLAY:</b> A (no TOs remaining) trails 13-10 with 0:10 left in the fourth quarter. It's 4/5 on B's 22. A15 runs and is tackled at about B's 17 where the LJ notices that it's close to the line to gain. He stops the clock with 0:03 remaining. Umpire flagged B32 during the play for an incidental face mask at B's 20. What is the next down, distance, and more importantly when will the clock next start?

OK...let's allow the FED guys to answer this one first, and then we'll get the NCAA guys to weigh in. Oh...and of course our Canadian brethren too.

nvfoa15 Wed Dec 14, 2005 10:06am

1/10 from about the B12, clock on the RFP. If A does not get a play off before time expires then the period will be extended for one untimed down.

Suudy Wed Dec 14, 2005 10:10am

Quote:

Originally posted by Bob M.
<b>PLAY:</b> A (no TOs remaining) trails 13-10 with 0:10 left in the fourth quarter. It's 4/5 on B's 22. A15 runs and is tackled at about B's 17 where the LJ notices that it's close to the line to gain. He stops the clock with 0:03 remaining. Umpire flagged B32 during the play for an incidental face mask at B's 20. What is the next down, distance, and more importantly when will the clock next start?
I'm a Fed guy, so I'll take a stab. You didn't mention if the runner was tackled in bounds, but I'll assume he was.

If A accepts the penalty, it's 5 yards from the end of the run, so 1st and 10 from the 12. The clock starts on the ready. If the clock expires, A gets 1 untimed down, because there was an accepted penalty on the last timed down of the quarter.

(Edit: Doh! Bob's later response make me change my response for when A declines the penalty.)

If A declines the penalty, and the LTG is reached, it's 1st and 10 from the 17. Clock starts on the ready. If A does not get off a play, game over.

If A declines the penalty, and if the LTG is not reached, it's B's ball, 1st and 10 from the 17. Clock starts on the snap.

[Edited by Suudy on Dec 14th, 2005 at 12:59 PM]

Suudy Wed Dec 14, 2005 10:15am

Why not mix it up? Certainly this would annoy fans and others that think Sunday rules apply on Friday.

Play: Team A trails by 2 points. 1st and 10 from A's 30. 0:05 left in the game. A1 completes a long pass to A2 on B's 30. As A2 runs for a touchdown, there is a block in the back by A3 on B's 5. Time expires during the play.

Rulings?

nvfoa15 Wed Dec 14, 2005 10:25am

Re Suudy's play: Basically the same 1/10 on the B15 period extended one untimed down.

JasonTX Wed Dec 14, 2005 12:10pm

NCAA is the same as Fed with 1 exception. If the time runs out when it's start on the RFP the game will be over. The period would have been extended had time ran out during the down.

Bob M. Wed Dec 14, 2005 12:20pm

Quote:

Originally posted by JasonTX
NCAA is the same as Fed with 1 exception. If the time runs out when it's start on the RFP the game will be over. The period would have been extended had time ran out during the down.
REPLY: Jason...did we ever determine definitively whether or not A15 reached the LTG? And would that make a difference with respects to starting the clock?

waltjp Wed Dec 14, 2005 12:55pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Bob M.
OK...time to get this train rolling again. Here's the first installment:

<b>PLAY:</b> A (no TOs remaining) trails 13-10 with 0:10 left in the fourth quarter. It's 4/5 on B's 22. A15 runs and is tackled at about B's 17 where the LJ notices that it's close to the line to gain. He stops the clock with 0:03 remaining. Umpire flagged B32 during the play for an incidental face mask at B's 20. What is the next down, distance, and more importantly when will the clock next start?

OK...let's allow the FED guys to answer this one first, and then we'll get the NCAA guys to weigh in. Oh...and of course our Canadian brethren too.

<b>FED</b>

B will be penalized from the end of the run. A 1/10 from B 12. The clock will start on the RFP. If time expires before A can snap the ball they will be given an untimed down because of an accepted penalty during the last timed down of the period.

JasonTX Wed Dec 14, 2005 01:04pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Bob M.
Quote:

Originally posted by JasonTX
NCAA is the same as Fed with 1 exception. If the time runs out when it's start on the RFP the game will be over. The period would have been extended had time ran out during the down.
REPLY: Jason...did we ever determine definitively whether or not A15 reached the LTG? And would that make a difference with respects to starting the clock?

NCAA:
I jumped too soon didn't I? If the run ended with a 1st down the clock will start on the RFP with no extension if time runs out. If they are short of the 1st down with the run the clock will start on the snap after the enforcement of the penalty.

Suudy Wed Dec 14, 2005 02:10pm

Quote:

Originally posted by JasonTX NCAA:
I jumped too soon didn't I? If the run ended with a 1st down the clock will start on the RFP with no extension if time runs out. If they are short of the 1st down with the run the clock will start on the snap after the enforcement of the penalty. [/B]
I'm a Fed guy, but this doesn't make sense. How is this determined? Is it because without the penalty they would have been short of the LTG, so after enforcement it is treated as a pseudo change of posession? So, if the spot of penalty enforcement is behind the LTG on 4th down, the clock starts on the snap?

Bob M. Wed Dec 14, 2005 02:13pm

Quote:

Originally posted by JasonTX
Quote:

Originally posted by Bob M.
Quote:

Originally posted by JasonTX
NCAA is the same as Fed with 1 exception. If the time runs out when it's start on the RFP the game will be over. The period would have been extended had time ran out during the down.
REPLY: Jason...did we ever determine definitively whether or not A15 reached the LTG? And would that make a difference with respects to starting the clock?

NCAA:
I jumped too soon didn't I? If the run ended with a 1st down the clock will start on the RFP with no extension if time runs out. If they are short of the 1st down with the run the clock will start on the snap after the enforcement of the penalty.

REPLY: So, as an experienced NCAA official, what would you do in this situation since the clock status (RFP or snap) is so crucial here?

Bob M. Wed Dec 14, 2005 02:16pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Suudy
Quote:

Originally posted by JasonTX NCAA:
I jumped too soon didn't I? If the run ended with a 1st down the clock will start on the RFP with no extension if time runs out. If they are short of the 1st down with the run the clock will start on the snap after the enforcement of the penalty.
I'm a Fed guy, but this doesn't make sense. How is this determined? Is it because without the penalty they would have been short of the LTG, so after enforcement it is treated as a pseudo change of posession? So, if the spot of penalty enforcement is behind the LTG on 4th down, the clock starts on the snap? [/B]
REPLY: Suudy...Jason's response was for NCAA rules which has totally principles for starting the clock than does the Federation. Maybe after we discuss this a little bit more, Jason will give us an explanation of the NCAA's principles. He's much more eloquent than I when discussing NCAA rules.

ljudge Wed Dec 14, 2005 05:13pm

OK, I cracked the NCAA rule book recently with plans to apply in January (assuming I can get two coaches to write letters).

When the final NCAA answer comes out on this one please cite rule reference numbers.

JasonTX Wed Dec 14, 2005 05:40pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ljudge
OK, I cracked the NCAA rule book recently with plans to apply in January (assuming I can get two coaches to write letters).

When the final NCAA answer comes out on this one please cite rule reference numbers.

When clock starts: 3-2-5. The key for NCAA is to remember why you stopped the clock. In the original play above let's suppose the run was well short of the first down. We stopped the clock to award team B a first down (3-2-5-e). Now that we have determined why the clock was stopped we will now deal with the penalty. Team A keeps the ball after the enforcement. On the flip side of the play, suppose the run netted a first down. We stopped the clock to award team A a first down. After the enforcement it will restart on the RFP. (3-2-5-a-1) If the clock is going to restart on the RFP it would be a good idea to make sure the coaches know. The quick and easy method for the clock starting is to ingore the fact there was a foul and start it as you normally would with the exception that the clock will start on the snap at the end of any legal kick. There is also an approved ruling to support my ruling. AR 3-2-5 I-IV

Bob M. Wed Dec 14, 2005 06:43pm

REPLY: OK Jason...the $64,000 question: Would you ever consider measuring after A15's run for the sole purpose of determining when you'll next start the clock after enforcing the penalty for B's foul? (Note: This question only makes sense under NCAA rules)

JasonTX Wed Dec 14, 2005 08:10pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Bob M.
REPLY: OK Jason...the $64,000 question: Would you ever consider measuring after A15's run for the sole purpose of determining when you'll next start the clock after enforcing the penalty for B's foul? (Note: This question only makes sense under NCAA rules)
Good question. My opinion is team B unknowingly gained a possible advantage by fouling, even though they have no clue that by fouling the clock may start on the RFP. With that, I will probably look at the chains and determine we are short of the first down. Clock will start on the snap.

wwcfoa43 Thu Dec 15, 2005 08:19am

Canadian Ruling
 
(I will assume it was third down since we have no fourth down.)

In Canada we have no incidental face mask. Players need to avoid grasping the mask or they get dinged for a 15 yard penalty, period.

Our UR penalties get enforced from PLS or PBD at A's option. So it would be half the distance from the 17, Team A 1st and goal at the 8.5 yard line. On any accepted penalty in the last three minutes, the clock will start on the snap with 0:03 left.


w_sohl Thu Dec 15, 2005 01:53pm

Quote:

Originally posted by nvfoa15
Re Suudy's play: Basically the same 1/10 on the B15 period extended one untimed down.
I think you are wrong here. NFHS you would not extend the game, a penalty by the offense does not extend the period.

Bob M. Thu Dec 15, 2005 02:02pm

Quote:

Originally posted by w_sohl

I think you are wrong here. NFHS you would not extend the game, a penalty by the offense does not extend the period.

REPLY: I think you better check on that. See NF 3-3-3.

Suudy Thu Dec 15, 2005 08:26pm

Quote:

Originally posted by w_sohl
Quote:

Originally posted by nvfoa15
Re Suudy's play: Basically the same 1/10 on the B15 period extended one untimed down.
I think you are wrong here. NFHS you would not extend the game, a penalty by the offense does not extend the period.

That's why I posted that situation. Many fans, coaches, and players think that the period is only extended for a defensive penalty. Any accepted penalty (offense or defense), except for a LOD penalty, extends the period for one untimed down. But in the situation I posted, it was not a LOD, so therefore an untimed down.

I remember discussing years ago with a coach the following situation:

A's ball, 1st and 10 from midfield. Team A trails by 2 points with 0:05 left in the 4th quarter. A1 throws a short pass to A2, which advances to B's 15. As B players converge on A2, A3 slips behind the defenders and A2 completes a forward pass to A3. A3 enters the EZ untouched. Ruling?

(Before the LOD rule change, my gut tells me that it's 2nd and 15 from A's 45. But at the time of the discussion, we thought it would be 1st and 10 from B's 20. One untimed down. A lines up and kicks a FG to win the game. Of course now, the penalty is accepted, and game over.)

w_sohl Thu Dec 15, 2005 11:09pm

Forgot there needs to be a loss of down.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1