The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 12, 2005, 08:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
Quote:
Originally posted by Theisey
My view on it says the hold started in the EZ.

Regardless, it seems to me that the attempt at a foward pass was nothing more than an attempt to save loss of yardage (or in this case, a safety). If not, why wasn't this considered a sack as the "passer" was nearly on the ground when he attempted to flip it forward. Isn't this what they call "in the grasp"?
I didn't see the play so I can only comment from a rules perspective. In the grasp only applies when he is wrapped up and ANOTHER defender is bearing down on him.

Quote:
[/B]

One last comment, even if it is legal (NFL rules) to do this outside the tackle area, I think the pass has to land beyond the NZ. It was close, but I think it was short of that point. [/B]
The NFL rule is that the pass must land near the line of scrimmage. It does not need to go to the line of scrimmage.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1