The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Nov 08, 2005, 03:05pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to IHSFW.com
I'm an Editor for a high school football website in Illinois & I'm doing a small opinion piece on Sideline Warnings, and I was wondering about what would happen in a bizarre situation like a frustrated kid coming out of the sideline or off the bench & tackeling someone on a sure fire break away TD.

I'm sure that he'd get ejected from the game & if he was a junior, might never be allowed to play again, but I can't believe that it would just be a 5 yard penalty for Sideline Violation, would you tack on a unsportsman like contuct 15 yarder on there as well? Or do you rule the play a TD? And in that case, what do you do if it wasn't a sure fire TD?

By the way. This hasn't happened. HS sports as far as I've seen it hasn't gotten that bad.

Cheers,
Vincent Johnson
http://www.IHSFW.com
Old Tue Nov 08, 2005, 03:19pm
Do not give a damn!!

The Referee can award a Touchdown for any unfair act that would have prevented a TD. This is the classic case for awarding a TD unless it was unclear that the ball carrier would have scored.

Peace
Old Tue Nov 08, 2005, 03:24pm
Official Forum Member

A sideline warning is not for this anyway. At minimum, this would be illegal participation. Intermediate would be IP (when he entered the field), and USC. And the strongest allowable penalty would be to award the TD and eject.
Old Tue Nov 08, 2005, 04:04pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock

Thumbs up

I would love to have to make this call.

PS: Canadian rule is the same - award a TD.
Old Tue Nov 08, 2005, 04:05pm
Official Forum Member

I think it is also safe to say that any ambiguity whether or not the player would have scored would be construed AGAINST the offending team.

Old Tue Nov 08, 2005, 04:18pm
Official Forum Member

Quote: