The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 10, 2005, 08:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
Quote:
Originally posted by Zebra29
Also keep in mind (mainly on a scrimmage kick is where you'd see it) that the ball is not dead when it crosses the goal line in the air, but it also cannot be batted (in any direction) in the end zone.

So basically, that punt that bounces on the 3-yard line into the air, crossing the goal line, and is batted backward and recovered by a member of the kicking team on the 1 is a touchback, not downed at the 1.
Rule 6-3-11 covers this case.
So yes, team-B will take over at the 20 since team-A downed the kick at the one after committing a touching violation over the EZ.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1