The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 28, 2005, 07:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 945
If the ball is caught or recovered by B inside their own 5 yard line then the momentum exception may be in effect. That is dependant upon the direction of movement by B at the time of the change of possession. If the direction of movement was toward B's endzone then the momentum exception is in effect if B goes directly into the endzone. If B does not get into the endzone directly but is moving laterally across the field then he is not awarded the momentum exception. And also if B begins to gain yardage prior to reaching his own endzone he will not be awarded the momentum exception.

8-5-2a EXCEPTION: When a defensive player intercepts an opponent’s forward pass; intercepts or recovers an opponent’s fumble or backward pass; or an R player catches or recovers a scrimmage kick or free-kick between his 5-yard line and the goal line, and his original momentum carries him into the end zone where the ball is declared dead in his team’s possession or it goes out of bounds in the end zone, the ball belongs to B at the spot where the pass or fumble was intercepted or recovered or the kick was caught or recovered.

Your original play was a safety.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1