The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 17, 2005, 02:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 140
Below is the e-mail Play-of-the-Day. Don't have my rule book with me, but something does not seem right about their thoughts. I believe the ruling is correct if A accepts both fouls, but they really wan to do that? Or am I just out in left field?

================================================== =========

Here's today's Play of the Day:

With the score, B-14 and A-8, a pass from A1 is complete in the end zone to A2 during the last timed down of the fourth period. During the down, there is holding by B1 and after the down, B2 is charged with an unsportsmanlike foul.

-----------------------------------------------------------

Ruling: A will undoubtedly accept the result of the play and enforce the holding penalty from the 3-yard line and enforce the penalty for the unsportsmanlike foul. The ball would then be snapped from the 3/4 yard line.(10.4.5D)Casebook
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 17, 2005, 02:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 133
I think something is wrong with their wording. If A accepts the result of the play, then the holding call is declined and the result of the play is a touchdown. The dead ball foul would still be enforced which would put the ball in play from the 1 1/2 yard line for the try.
__________________
Learn to officiate the dead ball situations perfectly, and the live ball plays will take care of themselves.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 17, 2005, 02:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 265
I believe their ruling is correct. Since B's foul occurred on a scoring play, A has the option to have the penalty enforced on the succeeding spot as well as the dead ball USC.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 17, 2005, 02:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
Why would they want to decline the holding? They would get an extra 3/4 of a yard by accepting it. I am confused by your thinking.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 17, 2005, 03:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 140
If A accepts B's foul that occured during the last timed down of the period, would that not require an untimed down, which in this case would be a free kick? Then if R returned the kick for a score, K would lose the game, hence it might be to A's advantage to decline that foul that B committed during the last timed down. They should be able to kick the extra point as easily from the 3 yardline as from the 3/4 yardline.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 17, 2005, 03:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 108
I agree, jack.
Since the score is tied 14-14, A might decline the holding penalty, accept the USC and attempt the try from the 1 1/2 yard line ensuring that the worst that can happen is them missing the try, in which they'd go to OT. If they accept the holding, there will be an untimed down and the worst that can happen is they lose on a kickoff return for TD. Maybe not worth the extra 3/4 of a yard.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 17, 2005, 03:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
Quote:
Originally posted by jack015
If A accepts B's foul that occured during the last timed down of the period, would that not require an untimed down, which in this case would be a free kick?
Since when is a free kick considered a down? Does this mean that on free kicks, that after the RFP, all players must be momentarily inside the 9 yd marks?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 17, 2005, 04:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 945
Ok, so the rule says that we have to extend the period by one untimed down if while during the last timed down of the period there was a foul by the opponents of the scoring team and the penalty is accepted. So B holds and A accepts the penalty. That penalty is enforced on the untimed down, the try. We don't extend to the kickoff for a foul on the TD.

All A players must be between the 9-yard marks between the RFP and the SNAP.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 17, 2005, 04:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 97
Quote:
Originally posted by Whistles & Stripes
Quote:
Originally posted by jack015
If A accepts B's foul that occured during the last timed down of the period, would that not require an untimed down, which in this case would be a free kick?
Since when is a free kick considered a down? Does this mean that on free kicks, that after the RFP, all players must be momentarily inside the 9 yd marks?
2-7-1...A down is action which starts with a legal snap (beginning a scrimmage down) or when the ball is kicked on a free kick (beginning a free kick down).

7-7-1...After the ball is ready...must have been momentarily between the 9-yard marks before the snap.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 17, 2005, 04:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 97
Quote:
Originally posted by Texoma_LJ
I think something is wrong with their wording. If A accepts the result of the play, then the holding call is declined and the result of the play is a touchdown. The dead ball foul would still be enforced which would put the ball in play from the 1 1/2 yard line for the try.
8-2-2...If during a touchdown-scoring play in which there is no change of possession, a foul by the opponents of the scoring team occurs, the scoring team may accept the results of the play and have a penalty enforced from the succeeding spot...
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 17, 2005, 04:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
Quote:
Originally posted by Kirby
I agree, jack.
Since the score is tied 14-14, A might decline the holding penalty, accept the USC and attempt the try from the 1 1/2 yard line ensuring that the worst that can happen is them missing the try, in which they'd go to OT. If they accept the holding, there will be an untimed down and the worst that can happen is they lose on a kickoff return for TD. Maybe not worth the extra 3/4 of a yard.
OK, Thanks for the corrections to my incorrect thoughts. I'm still rather new, season is already over here, and books are not readily accessible at the moment.

As for this post, there will be no kickoff. If the penalty for the hold is accepted, the untimed down which will be played is the try.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 17, 2005, 04:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 463
1) If A accepts the holding penalty, it is enforced at the succeeding spot. See 8-2-2.

2) Regardless of A's decision on the holding penalty, the USC will be enforced on the succeeding spot. See 10-4-5a & 10-2-4.

3) The succeeding spot is the 3-yard line for the try. See 2-40-10, 8-3-1.

4) If A accepts the holding penalty, there must be an untimed down. See 3-3-3a.

5) A free kick is a down. See 2-7-1.

6) Points 4 & 5 should not deter A from accepting the holding penalty. They can always just nudge the ball off the tee and fall on it.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 17, 2005, 05:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 108
Quote:
Originally posted by Whistles & Stripes
If the penalty for the hold is accepted, the untimed down which will be played is the try.
Rule 3-3-3a

A period must be extended by an untimed down if during the last timed down of the period......(a) there was a foul...and the penalty was accepted.

I'm not sure if the try is considered an "extension" of the period. I still think you have to kickoff if the holding penalty on the defense is accepted. If there was never an accepted live-ball penalty, you'd still have to attempt the try...this is why I do not think the try is considered an "extension" of the period.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 17, 2005, 07:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 133
My bad... brain cramp I guess. thats what I get for answering these things at the office on a Monday.
__________________
Learn to officiate the dead ball situations perfectly, and the live ball plays will take care of themselves.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 17, 2005, 07:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally posted by Kirby
Quote:
Originally posted by Whistles & Stripes
If the penalty for the hold is accepted, the untimed down which will be played is the try.
Rule 3-3-3a

A period must be extended by an untimed down if during the last timed down of the period......(a) there was a foul...and the penalty was accepted.

I'm not sure if the try is considered an "extension" of the period. I still think you have to kickoff if the holding penalty on the defense is accepted. If there was never an accepted live-ball penalty, you'd still have to attempt the try...this is why I do not think the try is considered an "extension" of the period.
Read down to rule 3-3-3d.

A Try is a down, the ball becomes live and then dead. Since the touchdown rule to extend the period is already in affect in a tied game, the accepted penalty 3-3-3a part has no affect.
__________________
See the ball, insure its dead
Then the whistle, not ahead
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1