![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Scenario #1: A's ball, 1st and 10 from A's 20. Ineligible A3 goes downfield. QB A2 throws to A1 at A's 31, who bats the ball back to A3 on A's 30. A3 catches the ball and is downed at A's 30. Scenario #2: A's ball, 1st and 10 from A's 20. Ineligible A3 goes downfield. QB A2 throws to A1 at A's 31, who attempts to bat the ball back to A3 on A's 30. While the ball is in flight, before the batting by A1, (a) B1 knocks A3 down, (b) B1 grabs A3's jersey and pulls him out of the way in an attempt to get to A1, (c) B1 tackles A3. The pass hits the ground. Rulings? Scenario #1: I'd expect to see at least 1 flag: ineligible receiver downfield. And my gut tells me there is an OPI on A3. Since PI restrictions on A don't end until B touches the ball (or the last pass ends, but since this is well beyond the NZ, there shouldn't be another pass), its OPI. Of course a multiple foul on A, so B chooses the OPI, 2nd and 20 from A's 10. Scenario #2: In all 3 cases, incomplete pass. For both (a) and (b) think only the ineligible receiver downfield should be called on A3 (assuming the contact by B1 was legal--i.e. not a hit in the back, etc). Perhaps in (c) something could be called on B1 (holding?), but since A3 isn't eligible... In (a) and (b), 1st and 15 from A's 15. In (c), perhaps double foul, replay the down, 1st and 10 from A's 20. Thoughts? |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|