The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Defensive Holding Question (https://forum.officiating.com/football/22528-defensive-holding-question.html)

Zebra29 Sun Oct 09, 2005 07:02pm

Please when answering, note if the rule is different at the 3 levels (HS, College, Pro)


The defense hold an eligible pass receiver, but there is no forward pass on the play. The QB is either sacked, or decides to run the ball.

Should there be a flag?

I hold been told previously that it is only a foul if the offense throws a forward pass beyond the neutral zone. That has been the way I have called it, waiting to throw a flag until I saw a pass being thrown. I passed on throwing a flag on that same type of play twice yesterday in my game.

I just saw a defensive holding enforced in the NFL on a sack.

Interpretations please!

TXMike Sun Oct 09, 2005 07:09pm

NCAA It is a foul and should be called. The hold may have prevented the potential receiver from getting open and therefore defense had time to get the sack.

Rich Sun Oct 09, 2005 07:25pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Zebra29
Please when answering, note if the rule is different at the 3 levels (HS, College, Pro)


The defense hold an eligible pass receiver, but there is no forward pass on the play. The QB is either sacked, or decides to run the ball.

Should there be a flag?

I hold been told previously that it is only a foul if the offense throws a forward pass beyond the neutral zone. That has been the way I have called it, waiting to throw a flag until I saw a pass being thrown. I passed on throwing a flag on that same type of play twice yesterday in my game.

I just saw a defensive holding enforced in the NFL on a sack.

Interpretations please!

It's a hold in NFHS rules, as well. You can't have DPI, but you can certainly have a hold.

MJT Sun Oct 09, 2005 07:51pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Zebra29
Please when answering, note if the rule is different at the 3 levels (HS, College, Pro)


The defense hold an eligible pass receiver, but there is no forward pass on the play. The QB is either sacked, or decides to run the ball.

Should there be a flag?

I hold been told previously that it is only a foul if the offense throws a forward pass beyond the neutral zone. That has been the way I have called it, waiting to throw a flag until I saw a pass being thrown. I passed on throwing a flag on that same type of play twice yesterday in my game.

I just saw a defensive holding enforced in the NFL on a sack.

Interpretations please!

Zebra29, think of it this way, maybe the reason they did not a throw a pass is because the player was not open because he was held. That is why you need a flag on the field no matter what level of ball it is.

Zebra29 Sun Oct 09, 2005 07:57pm

I understand that logic fully.

I'm not trying to pass the buck on this one, but for some reason, I was trained that if the QB does not throw the ball, there could not be holding on the defense, since it was not a passing play.

MJT Sun Oct 09, 2005 08:11pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Zebra29
I understand that logic fully.

I'm not trying to pass the buck on this one, but for some reason, I was trained that if the QB does not throw the ball, there could not be holding on the defense, since it was not a passing play.

I understand. If who trained you is still around, ask him the question I just posed to you and see what he says. I personally have never heard of it being called that way.

TXMike Sun Oct 09, 2005 08:13pm

Can't speak for Fed but for NCAA there is somewhat of a distinction in that if not thrown and crossing the NZ, there is no auto 1st like there is if he is held and legal fwd pass crosses the NZ.

cowbyfan1 Mon Oct 10, 2005 01:34am

If I see a defender latch onto a receiver I have defensive holding, pass or not, especially if I am reading that it is a pass play.

Rich Mon Oct 10, 2005 09:03am

There can be defensive holding on a designed running play, too, although it's a lot more rare than on a passing play.

A defender can hold, for example, a pulling guard to open a path for another defender who is now not blocked because of the hold. This is holding and should be called.

Defensive holding is not an automatic first down in NFHS rules.

PAUMP Mon Oct 10, 2005 01:48pm

If the hold occurs during the pass you have DPI not hold

Rich Mon Oct 10, 2005 06:46pm

Quote:

Originally posted by PAUMP
If the hold occurs during the pass you have DPI not hold
Nowhere in this thread did anyone say a pass was in the air. DPI restrictions begin at the time of the PASS, so a hold prior to the ball being thrown cannot be DPI.

PAUMP Tue Oct 11, 2005 06:27am

Just making a point that if the hold occurs during a pass it is DPI.

mcrowder Tue Oct 11, 2005 07:25am

If the receiver was number 54, he's ineligible.

Just making the (irrelevant) point that if (in a completely different scenario that has no relation to this one) the receiver was numbered improperly, he'd be ineligible.

goldcoastump Tue Oct 11, 2005 07:40am

In Federation, you could have illegal use of hands if there is contact after a receiver is no longer a blocker 9.2.3d but if the Defense grasped the receiver it would be holding.

golfdesigner Tue Oct 11, 2005 10:41am

Quote:

Originally posted by PAUMP
Just making a point that if the hold occurs during a pass it is DPI.
Not necessarily true, the hold can be away from the direction of the pass and as of 2005 that is not DPI but a hold.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1