The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Play question? (https://forum.officiating.com/football/22471-play-question.html)

MJT Wed Oct 05, 2005 02:10pm

Quote:

Originally posted by tpaul
Quote:

Originally posted by MJT

The foul did occur before the end of the kick.

I think PSK is not met cuz K is still in team possession when the IW. This is not the same as K downing the ball, the ball was never possessed by either team, and when the IW occurs it is not the same as if no team was in possession of a ball that is at rest, therefore I think our only option is to rekick.

Right R did not possess it. But what if the penalty is accepted? under NFHS rules the penalty over rules the IW.

But, this is different than any case play in 4-2-3. There is no PSK spot to enforce it from cuz there is not EOK, so the only option is to rekick. The IW caused there to be no EOK, so you must rekick. No way are you going to give K the option to have R's BIB enforced from the PS.

4-3-2-A says "the down shall be replayed the IW occurs during a legal kick." I know what 4-2-3 says about if a penalty is accepted, but you have no enforcement spot.

I think you MUST rekick. I don't see us asking K if they want to accept R's foul, we will administer it from the PS, which is the only option. This is what PSK was put in for. If K is giving up the ball by a scrimmage kick, they should not get it back so easily. The IW screwed R of the PSK, so rekick is the only option.

tpaul, you have my thoughts, what are yours?

mcrowder Wed Oct 05, 2005 02:40pm

The IW is screwing K, not R.

Could you not use the spot where the ball was at the point of the IW as your end of kick... after all, the ball is ruled dead the moment an IW blows, and the spot where the ball was when it is ruled dead would be, in this case, the end of the kick.

MJT Wed Oct 05, 2005 02:49pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mcrowder
The IW is screwing K, not R.

Could you not use the spot where the ball was at the point of the IW as your end of kick... after all, the ball is ruled dead the moment an IW blows, and the spot where the ball was when it is ruled dead would be, in this case, the end of the kick.

The NLF uses the spot of the ball at the whistle, but they have no IW rules like the NF. That is not an option in NF and that is why I think the only option is to rekick.

The point is, one team would gain an advantage cuz of the IW, and is not supposed to happen. There was not a player in possession, or a loose ball after player possession to go back to. I see no other option.

Bob M. Wed Oct 05, 2005 03:34pm

REPLY: mcrowder...both Federation and NCAA rules concur that when the ball is kicked (or otherwise loose) it is in possession of the team that last had player possession. Therefore, in this play, K was definitely in possession when the whistle was blown. And they would next be putting the ball in play. That's the real reason that PSK doesn't apply. Does R get shafted by an IW in this situation? You bet, but that's just an indication of how ugly an IW can really be.

andy1033 Wed Oct 05, 2005 03:41pm

For a loose ball ,team possession is the team that last possessed the ball

tpaul Wed Oct 05, 2005 06:55pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChickenOfNC
Ok, i can see that element of psk is missing.

I can say this forum is very very helpful for a new guy. I think there is no better way to learn than going through these situations.

ChickenOfNC
Oh, I agree I to love this forum....good way to air out our thoughts and I rather be wrong on this forum then on the football field.

tpaul Wed Oct 05, 2005 07:02pm

Quote:

Originally posted by MJT

But, this is different than any case play in 4-2-3. There is no PSK spot to enforce it from cuz there is not EOK, so the only option is to rekick. The IW caused there to be no EOK, so you must rekick. No way are you going to give K the option to have R's BIB enforced from the PS.

4-3-2-A says "the down shall be replayed the IW occurs during a legal kick." I know what 4-2-3 says about if a penalty is accepted, but you have no enforcement spot.

I think you MUST rekick. I don't see us asking K if they want to accept R's foul, we will administer it from the PS, which is the only option. This is what PSK was put in for. If K is giving up the ball by a scrimmage kick, they should not get it back so easily. The IW screwed R of the PSK, so rekick is the only option.

tpaul, you have my thoughts, what are yours? [/B]
MJT,
I love your thinking, it makes so much sense but the rule book doesn't follow such logic.

Because of the IW. We have a scrimmage kick which by rule is a loose ball play. Since PSK does not cover this we must go back to PS and enforce the penalty there.

Thus we have K 4-2 @ R35

Please see Case book play 4-2-3 sit E, also check 2-16-2G & 4-2-3


MJT Wed Oct 05, 2005 07:25pm

Quote:

Originally posted by tpaul
Quote:

Originally posted by MJT

But, this is different than any case play in 4-2-3. There is no PSK spot to enforce it from cuz there is not EOK, so the only option is to rekick. The IW caused there to be no EOK, so you must rekick. No way are you going to give K the option to have R's BIB enforced from the PS.

4-3-2-A says "the down shall be replayed the IW occurs during a legal kick." I know what 4-2-3 says about if a penalty is accepted, but you have no enforcement spot.

I think you MUST rekick. I don't see us asking K if they want to accept R's foul, we will administer it from the PS, which is the only option. This is what PSK was put in for. If K is giving up the ball by a scrimmage kick, they should not get it back so easily. The IW screwed R of the PSK, so rekick is the only option.

tpaul, you have my thoughts, what are yours?
MJT,
I love your thinking, it makes so much sense but the rule book doesn't follow such logic.

Because of the IW. We have a scrimmage kick which by rule is a loose ball play. Since PSK does not cover this we must go back to PS and enforce the penalty there.

Thus we have K 4-2 @ R35

Please see Case book play 4-2-3 sit E, also check 2-16-2G & 4-2-3

[/B]
Well, I guess that shows that I did not look in the case book for my argument. That is nasty considering this is the exact reason PSK was implimented. I guess this is one more reason why we need to keep the whistle out of our mouths until we see the ball in possession of a player who is down.

Theisey Wed Oct 05, 2005 08:04pm

I'll add my .02 cents worth only because I love to quote a phrase I learned a a number of years ago.

"the best thing that can happen to an official who blows an IW is for there to be a foul and the penalty is accepted, the whistle is ignored".

Note this phrase applies to the official, but not necessarily to a specific team. He most certainly will make one of the teams unhappy.

Specficially in the case of an IW during a scrimmage kick and there is a foul by team-R before the kick ends.
Fact... decline the penalty and K will re-kick
Fact... PSK does not apply on this play
Fact... accept the penalty and enforce the the yardage against team-R from the previous spot.
Fact... Team-K may just have made a first down as a result.
Fact... Team-Rs coach is going to be ticked off.

commit this to memory, better yet don't blow the whistle


BulldogMcC Wed Oct 05, 2005 08:17pm

One thing I want to add to the discussion as a symantic that I remind my R of when he is giving the options.

K is under no obligation to rekick, they are entitled to replay the down. We have actually had that happen before where the Ref told an R captain that he could accept the result of the play or K would have to re-kick. Captain took that literally and when K did faked the kick and make the LTG, R's captain and coach protested that the Ref had informed them that K was required to re-kick!

Funny story but a good reminder to be very clear with the offended captain's options.

golfnref Wed Oct 05, 2005 09:48pm

MJT is correct in his statement that K was in team possession when the IW occurred. Football Fundamental
I. POSSESSION 3. A loose ball is in possession of the team whose player was last in possession. Because the IW occurred while the ball was loose during a legal kick, the down will be replayed. However, in the play there was a foul by R which did not meet the requirements of PSK. If K declines the penalty they replay the down from the previous spot. If they accept the penalty, the IW is ignored and R would have the ball 4th and 2. They would then have the option of kicking or attempting to make the first down.

[Edited by golfnref on Oct 5th, 2005 at 10:50 PM]

waltjp Wed Oct 05, 2005 10:09pm

Good story, BullDog. That's an excellent reminder that we all have to be very careful about how we phrase things on the field.

Theisey Thu Oct 06, 2005 07:06am

I can't imagine that any Referee would say to the offense that you have to "rekick" again when a down is being replayed.

Does this same Ref tell the team on other downs that they will have run their pass play again or they have to run their sweep play again after enforcement of their penalty?

Must have have been a pop warner level official.


BulldogMcC Thu Oct 06, 2005 06:26pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Theisey
I can't imagine that any Referee would say to the offense that you have to "rekick" again when a down is being replayed.

Does this same Ref tell the team on other downs that they will have run their pass play again or they have to run their sweep play again after enforcement of their penalty?

Must have have been a pop warner level official.


I have had to remind R's are all levels. Look at the wording of all the posts above that caused me to post the gentle reminder. Even experienced R's can slip up, that is why we always have one of the other officials, usually the U, standing with them to hear the options and make sure we get it right.

[Edit: I went back through and counted 7 times that someone used the word "re-kick" as an option, including you Theisey. I am not saying the Ref told K they had to re-kick, I am saying that the Ref used the term 're-kick' instead of 'replay the down' when giving options to R. "R captain, we had an illegal formation on K, your options are decline the penalty and take the result of the play which is {result} or you may accept the penalty, we will go back to the original line of scrimmage, back K up 5 yards and they..." So you have never heard a referee say re-kick in this situation? We should say "will repeat 4th down." but I have heard "will rekick." enough times that hearing it 7 times in this thread triggered a response in me.]

[Edited by BulldogMcC on Oct 6th, 2005 at 09:37 PM]

Jim S Fri Oct 07, 2005 12:17pm

OK Guys, I agree that we go back to the previous spot. Since R did not posses the ball at the end of the down PSK is not a factor.

Now, if the penalty gives K a new series when do we start the clock & why?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1