The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 21, 2005, 06:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
Quote:
Originally posted by cowbyfan1
2 situations that happened.

1. Punt that goes up high and short but over the ENZ. An R player points at the ball and then drops his hand. No waving just a point straight up and then hand right back down. Would you flag for an illegal fair catch signal??
First, this wouldn't be an illegal signal. It might be an invalid signal.

Difficult to say if it would draw a flag or not without seeing it. Personally, I would be less inclined to throw the flag if this is done by an R player who is nowhere near the vicinity of the spot where the ball will land.


Quote:


2. Offense in non-scrimmage kick formation. Snap direct to running back who takes a 3 steps and punts the ball. He gets tackled by the defense right after he kicks the ball and the ball is not touched at all. Is this roughing the kicker or does he have to be in scrimmage kick formation to get that protection? I say he does get it per rule 9-4-5.
He does not have to be in scrimmage kick formation to get the protection. The only person afforded protection because of a scrimmage kick formation is the snapper.

Once a kicker puts his foot to the ball, he is protected. Once it was apparent he was kicking the ball, the defense is restricted. It is truly a judgment call.
__________________
Mike Sears
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1