The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 12, 2005, 05:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1
can anyone clarify this ruling?........

Where is the ball spotted when a runner steps out of bounds?

Saturday, a runner for ASU stepped out at the four yard line and dove for the pilon.

The ball was spotted at the 1 yard line.

A friend of mine said the ball is spotted where the ball is when the runner goes out of bounds. I say it should be spotted at the 4 where his foot touched the out of bounds line.

To me, this means that a runner could score a touchdown even if his foot touches the out of bounds line if the ball is over the goal line when he steps out. I don't think I have ever seen this called this way before.

If this is the rule, is it the rule in the NFL as well as college?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1