| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			can anyone clarify this ruling?........ 
 
Where is the ball spotted when a runner steps out of bounds? 
 
Saturday, a runner for ASU stepped out at the four yard line and dove for the pilon. 
 
The ball was spotted at the 1 yard line. 
 
A friend of mine said the ball is spotted where the ball is when the runner goes out of bounds. I say it should be spotted at the 4 where his foot touched the out of bounds line. 
 
To me, this means that a runner could score a touchdown even if his foot touches the out of bounds line if the ball is over the goal line when he steps out. I don't think I have ever seen this called this way before. 
 
If this is the rule, is it the rule in the NFL as well as college? 
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	 |