The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Sep 01, 2005, 08:32pm
Official Forum Member

I am new to football officiating. This is my first year. As football is a passion of mine, this seemed like a logical step. Being female has contributed to the challenges of being a new official. Are there any other female football officials out there? What suggestions can you offer?

Old Thu Sep 01, 2005, 09:08pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally posted by Shorti
I am new to football officiating. This is my first year. As football is a passion of mine, this seemed like a logical step. Being female has contributed to the challenges of being a new official. Are there any other female football officials out there? What suggestions can you offer?
We have football officials in our association and I believe there is a woman official in a D1 conference. Keep working at it!
Old Thu Sep 01, 2005, 09:19pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally posted by Shorti
What suggestions can you offer?
Work hard, study hard, have confidence, and don't hesitate to ask questions.

4 quick items:

- be on time!
- hustle!
- have a perfectly cleaned uniform..and SHINED shoes!
- communicate with your partners!

You go girl!
Old Fri Sep 02, 2005, 07:53am
Official Forum Member

In the short run, the best thing for you to do is become a real student of the rules. Learn 'em inside out, backwards and forwards. Your mechanics and judgment will come through on-field experience. You will gain confidence and respect if know the rules and understand the spirit of the rules.
Best of luck!!
Old Fri Sep 02, 2005, 08:36am
Official Forum Member