![]() |
B1 blocks A1 knocking him out of bounds (Still on his feet), B1 follows and continues to block A1 out of bounds.
Is this legal or would you flag for Illegal Personal Contact or possibly another penalty? |
I don't have rules support to call this a penalty. It can't see how it can be illegal personal contact in any way. Now I would call Illegal Participation if B returned since I would consider his going out of bounds to block the A player a voluntary act. I would allow A to return with no penalty because he was blocked out of bounds and if he can finally avoid B's block he'd be (legally) returning at his first "opportunity."
|
How far out of bounds? If it's just a foot or two (i.e. still essentially on the sideline), I've got nothing. If we've crossed the sideline to the point where there are obstacles, then I've probably got illegal personal contact under 9-4-3g (the unnecessary roughness clause).
Also, the defense/receiving team is allowed to voluntarily go OOB, so no IP flag on the B player here. |
Quote:
|
*blink* Right. Sad thing is I was staring right at the rule while typing. My mistake.
|
Canadian Ruling
Quote:
B leaving the field on his own is a foul if he further participates, including continuing to block A. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
~ |
Would we have Illegal Part. on B if the force of the block caused both men to go OOB and then they both came back in??? or are we saying the block by B makes him go OOb intentionally?
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30pm. |