The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 23, 2005, 03:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 13
Question

No one seems to be able to agree about this play at my association:

Team A is Fg formation when the holder receives the snap & places the ball on the tee. Then the kicker picks the ball off the tee and runs for the TD. The holder doesn't hand it or pitch it to him. Legal???
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 23, 2005, 04:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 265
Here's my feeling...for what its worth. We all know that the holder must rise from his knees to hand or pass the ball. If he doesn't, the ball is dead (NFHS ruling...I know that NCAA is different).

In your play, the holder has possession of the ball. The only way to loose possession is to fumble, hand or pass the ball, right. If he didn't fumble it, he must have handed it or passed it. Therefore, I would concluded that the ball was handed to the kicker and rule the ball dead when the kicker takes it from the holder who is on his knees.

There is no foul on the play, just a dead ball!

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 23, 2005, 05:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
There was a lot of discussion on this play at the McGriff board.

http://www.gmcgriff.com/discus/messages/4/1527.html
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1