Here's my feeling...for what its worth. We all know that the holder must rise from his knees to hand or pass the ball. If he doesn't, the ball is dead (NFHS ruling...I know that NCAA is different).
In your play, the holder has possession of the ball. The only way to loose possession is to fumble, hand or pass the ball, right. If he didn't fumble it, he must have handed it or passed it. Therefore, I would concluded that the ball was handed to the kicker and rule the ball dead when the kicker takes it from the holder who is on his knees.
There is no foul on the play, just a dead ball!
|