The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 22, 2005, 10:10pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally posted by Forksref
A has ball 3rd and 5 from their own 30. A12 completes a pass to A80 at the 37 where A80 runs 5 more yards to the 42 before being tackled. During the run A85 holds B55 at the 38 yd line. Explain what happens in enforcing the holding penalty on this play that is accepted by B.
Yards were gained, so the hold is applied from Point Ball Held at the time of the hold. If the hold was at the 38, I'm guessing that the ball was near there, because the further the gets is away from (and ahead of) the ball, the less important calling that hold becomes. Let's say that the Point Ball Held was the 38 yard line, when the hold occured. Team A keeps their earned first down, but scrimmages so 10 yards back, A 1D/10 @ A-28.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1