The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 23, 2005, 04:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 842
Send a message via AIM to cowbyfan1 Send a message via Yahoo to cowbyfan1
Re: Re: Motion from outside the 9-yard marks to inside...

Quote:
Originally posted by Snake~eyes
Quote:
Originally posted by jrfath
NC also has this interpretation. What do you think about it?

"If the receiver comes onto the field after the ready signal and sets outside the 9-yard marks, his going into motion during the cadence and moving inside the 9-yard marks DOES NOT bring him into compliance with Rule 7.2.1 and this would be an Illegal Formation penalty."

I assume this indicates the receiver does not reset inside the 9-yard marks after going in motion.
That sounds really wierd to me, that would be legal where I am.
It is legal as he got inside the 9 yard marks after the ready and before the snap. Just what the rule states.

Also to those who said the fields did not have the 9 yard marks, did they have the yard numbers painted on the field? If so, there is your 9 yard marks at the top of the numbers.

Oh and yes this is an illegal formation foul, not IP or IS.
__________________
Jim

Need an out, get an out. Need a run, balk it in.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:21pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1