The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 18, 2005, 04:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
Quote:
Originally posted by lds7199
Can a receiver who has given a valid or invalid fair catch signal block during the down? This is one of the questions on Part I of the NFHS test. There has been a lot of debate regarding this question in our organization. I think 9-3-3 says something to the effect of, "A receiver who has given a valid or invalid fair catch signal may not block until the kick has ended." One argument is that the player cannot block during the down because as soon as possession is gained or the ball becomes dead, the play is over. Is there any possible scenario where the person giving a v/invalid fair catch can block during the down? The confusion is based on the word "down". Any help would be greatly appreciated.
The key is, when did the kick end. On the scenario given in the 2nd post, the kick ended when the ball hit the ground. Let's say that R1 gives a valid signal, the ball bounces, and is picked up by R2. R1 is allowed to block at anytime after the ball has hit the ground. Am I wrong?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1