![]() |
QB throws a pick in the endzone, WR drills DB as DB returns to ground (leaping INT) jarring ball loose, offense recovers in endzone. Would this be a TD or a touchback? Would it depend on what the DB tried to do after he returned to the ground?
I am looking for the NCAA ruling, but follow ups with NFHS rulings would be appreciated. [Edited by w_sohl on Aug 18th, 2005 at 08:35 PM] |
Quote:
In my minds eye, I see the ball coming loose just as he touches the ground. If that is the case, I've got an incomplete pass. However, if the catch is ruled completed, this is a fumble. If A recovers a fumble in B's end zone, it is a touchdown. (8-2-1b). It does not matter what defender tries to do. It is NOT a touchback because the ball did not become dead in the end zone in B's possession. (8-5-3d) |
The reason I was asking is because obviously if he were to not get tackled in the endzone he would have taken a knee withthe proximity of the WRs and such.
A silly reason for me to ask the question, I was playing NCAA 2006 and I threw a pick in the endzone only to be fumbled by the DB and I recovered for a TD. (I drew the play up that way) |
In order to have a catch, the player has to grasp the ball and return to the ground. If you have a catch, then you have fumble and a TD. If you don't have a catch, then it is an incomplete pass. The way I am reading the play, the loss of the ball is simultaneous to returning to the ground and therefore not a catch.
|
No cheap touchdowns, no cheap catches, this is an incomplete pass, imo.
|
Quote:
If this is ruled as a catch, then we have a TD under all rule sets that I know of - the INT does not, in and of itself, make the ball dead. My question is this: Why is the LB drilling his teammate? |
[QUOTE]Originally posted by The Roamin' Umpire
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44am. |