The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sun Aug 07, 2005, 10:56pm
Official Forum Member

I am new to officaiting high school football. What does "all but one mean?

Also, is there fair catching on a kickoff?
Old Mon Aug 08, 2005, 12:05am
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally posted by keith40
I am new to officaiting high school football. What does "all but one mean?

Also, is there fair catching on a kickoff?
All but one is based on a team getting the advantage of the distance which is gained without assistance of a foul. In short all fouls but a foul by the offense behind the basic spot that is the one are penalized from the basic spot. If you understand that, and what the basic spot is, you have a basic grasp on penalty enforcement. Learn rules 10-3, 10-4, 10-5, and 10-6 well to understand penalty enforcement better. Below my answer to you on fair catches, I will paste a document I created for my crew on penalty enforcement. I do have a couple of emails, with many attachments on each that I would be more than happy to send you if you would like. They have many word documents covering different areas I have created for my crew, and many very good powerpoint doucuments on mechanics for each position and 5 man crews. The PowerPoints I got off of our Iowa state webpage, other state pages, or other officials. I have sent it out to a couple of dozen officials this summer, and have got some good stuff back from some of them as well. Adding resources and gaining as much knowledge as you can will help you continue to improve. If interested, my email is [email protected]

Learn all you can, but it is important as a new official is to learn the definitions, rule 2, and rule 9 - conduct of players and others.