The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 24, 2005, 07:25pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Here's a sitch that happened this summer.

Last play of half. A throws an INT. B player is tackled via the facemask.

After the play is over, B commits a UR.

Ruling? (Fed, NCAA, etc...) I'll post the Canadian ruling later.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 24, 2005, 08:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
I give, what's a UR? I'll asusme it's equivalent to an Unsportsmanlike act.

I think both codes will agree on this.
The interception will stand.
Assuming team-B wants to accept the penalty against Team-A, it will be tacked on to the end of team-B's run. Being tackled by the mask is most assuredly the 15 yard version of the face mask foul.

Extend the period if accepted.

Since the play ended, the dead ball UC foul by the intercepting team will also be enforced as this would not be combined with the face mask foul.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 24, 2005, 09:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 463
UR = unnecessary roughness

Doesn't change your enforcement any, except that as a personal foul, it doesn't carry the same potential ejection consequences.

And, of course, in the hugely unlikely event that B declines the penalty, the half is over and the dead-ball PF against B will still be enforced: on the second-half kickoff.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 27, 2005, 11:06pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
So in Canada, if a UR happens after the last play of a quarter, it is applied in the next quarter. However, since the first UR occured during the play, the non-offending team can choose to apply that penalty to extended the period for one more play. Once that happens, the period is no longer over, and the second UR can only be applied in the quarter in question. So then, we have two URs - both applied at either point ball dead or at a point of application of the first UR. Either way, 15 yards and 15 yards will balance out and we have one play.

Another official and I are also bb officials and we termed this a "false dual foul".

(In Cdn fb, a dual is the same as a Fed bb double.)
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1