The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   offensive pass interference (https://forum.officiating.com/football/21340-offensive-pass-interference.html)

jakem Mon Jul 18, 2005 08:18am

on an offensive pass interference play,incomplete pass, if it is 3rd down and 10 to go on the A 30 yard line, what are the choices given to the B defense?

DrMooreReferee Mon Jul 18, 2005 08:35am

The choices would be.

A. Decline the penalty and have 4 and 10 from the 30

B. Accept the penalty and have 4th and 25 from the 15. Loss of down penalty.


JasonTX Mon Jul 18, 2005 08:39am

Unlike the NF rule, under NCAA there is no loss of down provision if it's accepted. 3rd and 25 from the A15. If declined, 4th and 10 from the A30.

golfnref Mon Jul 18, 2005 10:29am

And unlike NF or NCAA, there is no loss of down for offensive pass interference under NFL rules. Loss of ten from the previous spot.

JugglingReferee Mon Jul 18, 2005 01:17pm

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally posted by jakem
on an offensive pass interference play,incomplete pass, if it is 3rd down and 10 to go on the A 30 yard line, what are the choices given to the B defense?
Since you mentioned 3rd down, I will amend the sitch with a Canadian ruling to be on 2nd down, as we only have 3 downs. :)

The penalty is L15. Option:

<li>3D/10 @ A-30</li>
<li>2D/25 @ A-15</li>

ref18 Mon Jul 18, 2005 02:29pm

Re: Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally posted by JugglingReferee
Quote:

Originally posted by jakem
on an offensive pass interference play,incomplete pass, if it is 3rd down and 10 to go on the A 30 yard line, what are the choices given to the B defense?
Since you mentioned 3rd down, I will amend the sitch with a Canadian ruling to be on 2nd down, as we only have 3 downs. :)

The penalty is L15. Option:

<li>3D/10 @ A-30</li>
<li>2D/25 @ A-15</li>

But if it was on 3rd down in Canada, these would be the options

<li>Team B 1D/10 @ A-30</li>
<li>3D/25 @ A-15</li>

I'm sure that almost always in this sitch, B will take option 1.

JugglingReferee Mon Jul 18, 2005 09:42pm

Re: Re: Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally posted by ref18
But if it was on 3rd down in Canada, these would be the options

<li>Team B 1D/10 @ A-30</li>
<li>3D/25 @ A-15</li>

I'm sure that almost always in this sitch, B will take option 1.

Yes. That part is obvious. In any code and on last down, an incomplete pass where OPI exists must have an option to allow a change of possession.

The learning part here is that OPI is 15 yards and that OPI is not restricted.

tpaul Tue Jul 19, 2005 07:32pm

Re: Re: Re: Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally posted by JugglingReferee
Quote:

Originally posted by ref18
But if it was on 3rd down in Canada, these would be the options

<li>Team B 1D/10 @ A-30</li>
<li>3D/25 @ A-15</li>

I'm sure that almost always in this sitch, B will take option 1.

Yes. That part is obvious. In any code and on last down, an incomplete pass where OPI exists must have an option to allow a change of possession.

The learning part here is that OPI is 15 yards and that OPI is not restricted.

What does that mean? "OPI is not restricted"

JugglingReferee Tue Jul 19, 2005 10:25pm

Re: Re: Re: Re: Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally posted by tpaul
What does that mean? "OPI is not restricted"
ref18 and I work Canadian ball. Here, every foul except for PI is restricted as you approach the goal line.

For example, a Team B 15 yard foul applied from the B-16 yard line goes half the distance. However, if this same foul was DPI, the half the distance restiction does not apply and you go to the 1, plus an automatic first down.

Similarily, OPI is not restricted either.

tpaul Tue Jul 19, 2005 10:27pm


JugglingReferee,
thanks for that info....I never heard it put that way before...thanks

Topshelf Wed Jul 20, 2005 07:41am

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally posted by JugglingReferee
Quote:

Originally posted by tpaul
What does that mean? "OPI is not restricted"
ref18 and I work Canadian ball. Here, every foul except for PI is restricted as you approach the goal line.

For example, a Team B 15 yard foul applied from the B-16 yard line goes half the distance. However, if this same foul was DPI, the half the distance restiction does not apply and you go to the 1, plus an automatic first down.

Similarily, OPI is not restricted either.

What happens if you have DPI from the B-14? Is that a TD?

JugglingReferee Wed Jul 20, 2005 01:26pm

Yes. ;)


LOL - no, it also goes to the 1. We have a 1 yard neutral zone - nobody can be in the 1 yard at the snap. Because of that, we can't scrimmage within the 1 yard line.

DPI less than 15 yards is a spot foul. One of only a few that we have.

waltjp Wed Jul 20, 2005 02:34pm

Quote:

Originally posted by JugglingReferee
Yes. ;)


LOL - no, it also goes to the 1. We have a 1 yard neutral zone - nobody can be in the 1 yard at the snap. Because of that, we can't scrimmage within the 1 yard line.

DPI less than 15 yards is a spot foul. One of only a few that we have.

So if a runner is tackled inside the 1 yard line you place the ball at the 1?

Mark Dexter Wed Jul 20, 2005 03:20pm

Quote:

Originally posted by JugglingReferee
We have a 1 yard neutral zone - nobody can be in the 1 yard at the snap. Because of that, we can't scrimmage within the 1 yard line.

Out of curiosity, from what points is that 1 yard measured?

JugglingReferee Wed Jul 20, 2005 03:40pm

Yes, if a ball carrier is tackled inside the 1, the ball is spotted at the 1. This is true at both ends of the field.

The 1 yard defining the neutral zone is measured from the tip of the ball in the direction the offense is going, to 1 yard in advance of that tip.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1