The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 09, 2005, 09:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally posted by tpaul
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Dexter
I think MJT has a pretty good argument (regarding the opposing coach), but I don't think this makes an intentional PI into a USC.

While the signal may be the same, I can't find anything in 7-5 to indicate that this is treated as a USC penalty. I realize that, under normal circumstances, you can only enforce one live-ball penalty by a team, but I would read the intentional PI rule as an exception, not as requiring the second 15 yards to be charged as a USC.
Mark,
If that was true wouldn't there be a listing in rule 10 for special enforcement? Just a thought...?
Point well taken.

I think it's just not clear either way. If it is intended to count as a USC foul, one sentence could be added to the rulebook. The same could be done if the USC signal is just a convenient signal.

While it certainly seems reasonable that this counts as a USC, I will not eject a kid based on just a signal without some guidance from the NF or my assignor (meaning I may ask about this during meetings this fall).
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1