The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 20, 2005, 11:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 463
Quote:
Originally posted by MJT
State NCAA or NF as rules may vary.

1. Fourth and 12 on the A-45 yard line. While A7's punt is in the air, Back A33 grabs and pulls B48's facemask at the A-40 yard line. B22 catches the punt at the B-14 yard line, runs to the B-48 yard line, fumbles, and A78 recovers at the A-46 yard line. During B22's run, B8 held A35 at the B-16 yard line.
FED: Double foul. B/R must have possession at the end of the down for PSK enforcement.
NCAA: Same, I believe.

Quote:
2. Third and 12 on the A-4 yard line. With 4 seconds remaining in a tied game, Back A33 takes a handoff from QB A8 in his end zone. A33 is hit at the A-1 yard line and fumbles the ball up into the air toward End A84 who is in the end zone. A84 catches the ball and, from the end zone, throws a forward pass to End A88 at the A-22 yard line. No ineligibles were downfield. A88 runs for a touchdown. Time expires on the play.
FED: Sounds legal to me. TD.
NCAA: Same, I believe. Fourth down would be another story.

Quote:
3. Third and 10 on the B-24 yard line. Back A33 runs for a touchdown. During the run, when A33 was at the B-6 yard line, End A82 held B44 in B's end zone. After the score A33 taunts B12.
FED: Basic spot is the end of the run - i.e., the goal line. Enforce both penalties. After the holding, it's A 1/G at the B10. After the unsportsmanlinke, it's A 1/10 at the B25.

NCAA: This, I'm sure, is different. I'm pretty sure the basic spot doesn't change, so I'm guessing we're going to have A 3/11 at the B25. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

Quote:
4. Fourth and 14 on the B-36 yard line. Team A attempts a field goal; however, Kicker A7's kick is so low that the ball strikes the Umpire beyond the line of scrimmage and rebounds back behind the line. Holder A8 muffs the ball at the B-40 yard line and the bouncing ball hits Defensive Lineman B92 in the back at the B-32 yard line. A77 falls on the ball at the B-34 yard line.
It hit the umpire but not any players?! How tall is this guy, anyway? And why isn't he slouching like a proper umpire? :P

FED: All scrimmage kicks are created equal, and the touching by an official is ignored. Since the ball is first touched beyond the ENZ by a defender, it's anybody's ball. A 1/10 at the B34.
NCAA: Dunno. If I had to guess, I'd say the same as Fed, but I know the NCAA kicking rules are notably different.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1