![]() |
Help
K is down by three with less than a minute to go. K attempts an onside(s) kick from its 40 yard line. K1 kicks the ball into the ground and the ball then bounds high into the air. R1 gives a proper fair catch signal at the fifty yard line and completes the catch. As soon as R1 catches the ball he is hit by K2 and fumbles. K3 Recovers at R's 45. Questions. 1. What is the foul? 2. When does the play end? 3. What are the enforcement options? 4. Whose ball? This play actually happened to us this year. |
Quote:
|
NCAA - No foul. Fair catch terminates when kick hit the ground on the onside. K 3's ball on the 45. 1st and 10
|
NCAA:
As Mike wrote, the ball is dead when caught (after a valid or invalid fair catch). The player signalling for the fair catch however does NOT have protection It would be R's ball where caught (R's 1st and 10 on the 50) with no flag for illegal contact, but possible flag for Dead Ball PF. James [Edited by jjrye22 on Jan 27th, 2005 at 12:31 PM] |
Oops. You are right. The signal does kill the ball when caught or recovered.
|
Agreed
|
But K can take the penalty and rekick.
|
No penalty in NCAA.
|
I agree, however, can anyone point me to the rule that tells us to kill it on an invalid fair catch. I was only able to see that you don't stop it on an illegal fair catch (ie catch then signal).
|
NCAA - 6-5-3-b -- A catch after an invalid fair catch signal is not a fair catch and is dead where caught.
|
Quote:
|
I have another situation along these same lines, happened a few years back, NAIA football.
Team A punts and Team B signals for a fair catch. Team B receiver misjudges the ball and it bounces behind him. He turns and ball bounces right back to him where he grabs it, turns and runs it back for a touchdown. TD or not? caused quite a bit of confusion on the field but the play stood as TD. |
How can that play possibly stand as a TD?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
It took about 10 minutes of discussion and back and forth to the coaches, but ultimately the play stood. The only possible thing I can think of is that the refs determined that a fair catch signal wasn't given. I will say that the signal was a goofy one as it appeared the receiver realized the ball was going over his head in mid-signal, but he did raise the arm over his head a give a wave although it was fairly brief as he tried to recover to the ball. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51am. |