The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 16, 2005, 02:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,612
So, in the NFL, a player returning from OOB has to have both feet back inbounds before he is no longer OOB?

That's a new one on me.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 16, 2005, 02:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 762
Yes. The defensive player has to re-establish himself inbounds to be the first to touch the ball. Both feet have to be inbounds prior to touching the ball. The same thing applies to a punting team player running to stop a punt from going into the end zone. If he runs into the end zone he has to get both feet out of the end zone before touching the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 16, 2005, 03:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,612
Under NFHS rules, the player only has to no longer be touching OOB. What's the NCAA rule?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 16, 2005, 04:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 762
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Under NFHS rules, the player only has to no longer be touching OOB. What's the NCAA rule?
Same as Fed.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 16, 2005, 05:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
To borrow a phrase from John Madden, one knee equals 2 feet. The NFL player need not get 2 feet down in bounds to be declared inbounds because the rule says "A player is inbounds when he first touches both feet or ANY OTHER PART OF HIS BODY, other than his hands, to the ground within the boundary lines."

Ex: DB is OOB, jumps back towards inbounds and lands on his back before catching the ball. That would be an interception.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 17, 2005, 02:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
So, in the NFL, a player returning from OOB has to have both feet back inbounds before he is no longer OOB?

That's a new one on me.
Same here, for a second I thought Aikman or who ever it was was just making it up.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 17, 2005, 08:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: The "two-foot" rule is even applicable in momentum exception situations. On the Monday night game between NE and Buffalo, the opening kickoff was kicked deep toward the near side pylon. The receiver fielded the ball at about the one and carried it into the EZ. He downs it there. The HL drops his bag on the one for momentum, and the ball is placed there--first and ten. The coach asks for review and the R (Tom White) determines that the receiver only got one foot down in the field of play. The second foot hit the goal line. Therefore, it's treated as if the ball was caught was caught in the endzone--a touchback. Ball is relocated to the 20. The HL told me that in virtually every respect the NFL is a "two-foot league."
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 17, 2005, 08:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
"2 feet" = "1 knee", "1 shoulder", "1 butt cheek" etc etc etc

[Edited by TXMike on Jan 17th, 2005 at 08:59 AM]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1