The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 11, 2004, 06:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Mullica Hill, NJ
Posts: 798
Here's the question (for convenience)...

A 1-10 @ B40. A3 runs a fly pattern down the right sideline. At the goal line he leaps for the ball grabs it and the first foot to return to the ground comes down in bounds. While he was in the air, one of his feet grazed the pylon, displacing it from its position.

OK - it says the "first foot to return to the ground." BUT BEFORE that first foot returned to the ground his foot grazed the pylon which is out of bounds. Now by definition of OOB, he's out of bounds. And, an A player can't go out of bounds and return (when his foot touched the ground). So TECHNICALLY (letter of the law) he has committed IP so a test question should indicate IP, BUT that would be nuts to make that call. I would flag incomplete. Now, if his foot hit the pylon and he came 3 yards in the endzone and caught the ball you may have no choice but to call IP. That's just my take on it.

Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1