The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 06, 2004, 12:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 80
I have a question about this particular situation. Does the foul for the defensive substitute not getting to his side of the neutral zone (illegal substitution, 5 yds, simultaneous with the snap) automatically become illegal participation if this player participates in the play? Or is it a seperate foul with a second flag at the spot of participation with options for the offended team? The reason I ask is this. Game situation is this 3rd and 4 at the 50. B1 potential substitute does not get to his side of the neutral zone before the snap. A sweeps away from him and B1 doesn't participate or follow the play. A gets stuffed at the line and retreats and reverses the play back toward B1. B1 now makes the tackle 15 yards behind the line of scrimmage. If we have a seperate foul for illegal substitution simultanious with the snap, A could choose that option and have a 1st and 10 at B's 45. If we don't have a seperate penalty and you determine B1's participation occured at the spot of the tackle we now penalize 15 yards from the end of the run and we have 3rd and 4 from the 50. I am curious how everyone would handle this situation.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1